Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
The nutmeg is very strong. Would not use more than a dash, literally. Otherwise, a good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Easily adaptable to a vegan dish. Since I am the only one in my family who likes squash and soups, I halved this recipe and made it in a 3 1/2 qt. slow cooker on low for 6 hrs. To simplify the squash part, I bought it cubed in the freezer section, thawed it in the fridge overnight, then fried it in a skillet for a few minutes with about a Tbsp. (tablespoon) of vegan spread to give it enhanced flavor. I added about 1/2 c. celery and minced it in the food processor with the onion and carrot. I also added about 1 Tbsp. minced, jarred garlic since I love all the flavors together. I took previous reviewers' suggestions and peeled and cored a Granny Smith apple and ground that along with the above veggie mix. I skipped the cream since I'm trying to cut back on dairy and fat calories and used a vegan broth mix. I can tell this flavor will be great with some kale chips crushed and sprinkled on top. Freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mesa Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
I loved how simple this recipe was, it's a great starter and easy to adjust to make it exactly what you want. I followed the basic recipe, using homemade turkey stock and added what I needed of veggie stock to fill in the rest. I skinned the squash without roasting it, and added it to the 1 full onion and carrots that were already in the pot, then after everything cooked down I added the nutmeg, coriander, white pepper, salt and a little bit of black truffle oil. I also replaced the heavy cream with a couple Tbs of plain greek yogurt to cut back on the fat content. It turned out so well, and it's also easy to freeze so I can have a nice comfort food anytime I want. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emjackson81

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I wasn't impressed. Followed the recipe to a T. I even had the Hubby help cut the squash. :-) It needed something still. I even added some cinnamon along with the nutmeg. I shall just keep on looking for that perfect butternut soup recipe. I shared with my Mom, who agreed that it needed something more. Thanks anyway Phonelady55
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tink

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
Amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Simple, silky, subtle! This isn't an overwhelming soup, bold flavors. Next time, I'll make double. Leave out the cream to freeze it, then add when I reheat later. Dreamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Leigh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
Delish! Tastes like Thanksgiving in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Very tasty indeed and on the nutritious side. Only deviations I made: -Roasted squash first. -Did not have heavy cream so not sure if that would have made it better than it already was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mr. Whisk

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Ok the soup is absolutely delicious. The taste deserves 5 stars, and I haven't even added the cream yet (and still can't decide if I will it's so good without it!). However butternut squash has got to be the most difficult vegetable I have ever peeled and cubed! And for any other novice chefs like myself BE AWARE this squash secretes a juice that will cause severe dry skin! Use gloves or something! Not painful but incredibly disgusting. Recipe is awesome! But a lot of prep, which is the only reason I gave it one less star than perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
Great recipe! I agree roast the squash first and instead of heavy cream add some smoked gouda cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 583) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States