Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Really yummy. I used homemade veg broth and just eyeballed amounts and it worked out great. Slammed it with pepper and extra fresh ground nutmeg to serve cuz they add a nice bite (my family loves pepper and some of my family doesn't like sour cream.) Could also use hot sauce or chipotle because they'll pair with the sweet quite well. I used a very high quality sour cream because why bother with the fat and calories unless it's worth it, right? I think it's important to use whole sour cream because the textural component completes the "mouth feel" for lack of a better phrase. Of course, whole greek yogurt will likely do very well also. Definitely very easy and you can impress guests with it also, while being somewhat healthy and given I have one vegetarian in the house, I don't have to make two meals. Served with bacon avocado sandwiches for the carnivores and a facon (Smart Bacon) avocado sandwich for the vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This recipe was amazingly easy and very good. I had a pre-Thanksgiving party with my family so I doubled the recipe. I took the suggestions of a few reviewers and roasted the squash and carrots with a little butter first, and I added a gala apple. Next time, I will take the suggestion of another reviewer, and find some that is already cut up (getting that sqash broken down was a true labor of love!). I used chicken broth because that's what I had on hand, but the squash still remained the star. I probably used a bit more seasoning that the recipe calls for and I also added a little cayenne pepper. The soup was great right after I made it, but the cream really kicked it up a notch. I made it the night before and then reheated it in my crockpot about 30 minutes before I was ready to serve it. I got rave reviews on it and served it with some roast chicken and baked potatoes. I think I will make this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I bought cubed butternut squash from the supermarket and nuked them for a few minutes and used EVOO instead of canola oil. I also sauteed the carrots first to soften them before throwing in the butternut squash. I think this recipe is good but my husband loved it. Something tasted a little off to me and I realized it was the nutmeg. I added skim milk and some cayenne pepper at the end which boosted the flavor. I wish I had taken people's advice and skipped the nutmeg altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I really wish I could have tried this recipe as is, but I was making it for my boyfriend and he has gastric reflux disease so I had to doctor it significantly so that he could have it too. I made three cups of chicken broth with boullion cubes and brought it to a boil. I then added the carrots to that along with one pealed and sliced gala apple. While that was cooking, I baked the squash on 375 for 35 minutes, as was suggested by other reviewers. When it was done, I added it into the soup along with a 1/2 cup of brown sugar and blended all of it in the blender five minutes later. It turned out delicious--especially when I added dashes of cinnamon and nutmeg to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
5***** I added 1/2 a honey crisp apple & topped off our bowls with hot sauce - I used Cholula & my husband, Sri Racha. I also sauteed some garlic & ginger in with the onion, butter & oil. This is the 1st review I have ever written - I just had to write because it turned out so well. Definitely delicious & fancy enough to serve for company & super simple. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was fabulous and everyone raved about it! The only thing I would suggest is not to add nutmeg or seasonings until done--mine didn't need anything and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Good but pretty plain - didn't have nutmeg so maybe that would make it better for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Incredible!! I used frozen cubed squash from Costco and roasted it with the carrots like others have suggested. Turned out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Very easy and a tasty soup...my sister-in-law told me about COSTCO having packages or pre-cut butternut squash...I bought that, so soup was extra easy! I left out the cream, but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I roasted the squash as mentioned previously and steamed the carrots, then pureed both in my food processor. Added chicken broth as opposed to vegetable stock and a little sprinkling of celery salt. Used a bit of 2% milk instead of heavy cream to keep the calorie content a little lower as well. Was a filling, delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States