Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I roasted the squash as mentioned previously and steamed the carrots, then pureed both in my food processor. Added chicken broth as opposed to vegetable stock and a little sprinkling of celery salt. Used a bit of 2% milk instead of heavy cream to keep the calorie content a little lower as well. Was a filling, delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Delicious soup. Caramelized the onions as I had to for another recipe, and added just a touch of the nutmeg. The soup is super smooth and has become a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reading, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
4 tsp kosher salt + 2 tsp ground white pepper + 1 tsp nutmeg Excellent soup, but I wasn't sure on the amount of spices to use. I went by Alton Brown's (very similar) recipe for the spices on this, and it turned out perfect (see above)! One butternut squash yields approx 2 1/2 cup scooped. I roasted mine at 400 deg for about an hour or so with a bit of water in the bottom of the pan, skin side down/flesh up. I brushed with melted butter and sprinkled on kosher salt and white pepper before roasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mel

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Cook your squash first. I cut it in half, scooped out the seeds/stringy stuff, put it in a glass dish and covered it, then microwaved on high for 12-15 minutes. Since I did this, I should have waited until the carrots were soft before I added the squash - next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by libbyjuju

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I wanted to make an inviting autumn soup for friends and family, and tried this recipe. The onions and garlic were so fragrant...I used unsalted butter but substituted evaporated milk for the optional cream...The squash was simply boiled in water then pureed in the blender. The soup came out comforting, mild, sweet, aromatic, but slightly too bland for my S.O. who loves savory and bold flavors. I loved the soup and will make again--perhaps I'll try roasting the squash and adding more seasoning. This is a good basic recipe that you can expand on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
this was wonderful! will make many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This soup is really, really good! And so easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
Delicious! I used 1 tsp of salt, 1 tsp of nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp of pepper. Also I used 2 cans of vegetable stock. It was very good! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This was the first time I made a soup like this and I really liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Very tasty. I added a little skim milk instead of heavy cream to make it a thinner soup. I'm saving this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States