Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2011
I LOVE butternut squash soup and this is the best recipe I have found on here! I didn't follow the measurements very carefully, and also roasted the squash first but it still came out great. I will use this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Really yummy!! I doubled this recipe to make a big pot of it (about 7-8 cups of cubed squash). I used chicken stock instead, and light cream instead of heavy cream. Do watch out for the nutmeg. I read other reviewers' comments and didn't add too much nutmeg since it's a strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Soho
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
Delicious! I too roasted the squash before I cooked it. I also added some cinnamon along with the nutmeg. This was so yummy and easy to make. I'll definitely be using this recipe all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Really yummy. I used homemade veg broth and just eyeballed amounts and it worked out great. Slammed it with pepper and extra fresh ground nutmeg to serve cuz they add a nice bite (my family loves pepper and some of my family doesn't like sour cream.) Could also use hot sauce or chipotle because they'll pair with the sweet quite well. I used a very high quality sour cream because why bother with the fat and calories unless it's worth it, right? I think it's important to use whole sour cream because the textural component completes the "mouth feel" for lack of a better phrase. Of course, whole greek yogurt will likely do very well also. Definitely very easy and you can impress guests with it also, while being somewhat healthy and given I have one vegetarian in the house, I don't have to make two meals. Served with bacon avocado sandwiches for the carnivores and a facon (Smart Bacon) avocado sandwich for the vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Alpine, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This recipe was amazingly easy and very good. I had a pre-Thanksgiving party with my family so I doubled the recipe. I took the suggestions of a few reviewers and roasted the squash and carrots with a little butter first, and I added a gala apple. Next time, I will take the suggestion of another reviewer, and find some that is already cut up (getting that sqash broken down was a true labor of love!). I used chicken broth because that's what I had on hand, but the squash still remained the star. I probably used a bit more seasoning that the recipe calls for and I also added a little cayenne pepper. The soup was great right after I made it, but the cream really kicked it up a notch. I made it the night before and then reheated it in my crockpot about 30 minutes before I was ready to serve it. I got rave reviews on it and served it with some roast chicken and baked potatoes. I think I will make this every year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
I bought cubed butternut squash from the supermarket and nuked them for a few minutes and used EVOO instead of canola oil. I also sauteed the carrots first to soften them before throwing in the butternut squash. I think this recipe is good but my husband loved it. Something tasted a little off to me and I realized it was the nutmeg. I added skim milk and some cayenne pepper at the end which boosted the flavor. I wish I had taken people's advice and skipped the nutmeg altogether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
I really wish I could have tried this recipe as is, but I was making it for my boyfriend and he has gastric reflux disease so I had to doctor it significantly so that he could have it too. I made three cups of chicken broth with boullion cubes and brought it to a boil. I then added the carrots to that along with one pealed and sliced gala apple. While that was cooking, I baked the squash on 375 for 35 minutes, as was suggested by other reviewers. When it was done, I added it into the soup along with a 1/2 cup of brown sugar and blended all of it in the blender five minutes later. It turned out delicious--especially when I added dashes of cinnamon and nutmeg to mine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ponytail Goddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Freeport, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
5***** I added 1/2 a honey crisp apple & topped off our bowls with hot sauce - I used Cholula & my husband, Sri Racha. I also sauteed some garlic & ginger in with the onion, butter & oil. This is the 1st review I have ever written - I just had to write because it turned out so well. Definitely delicious & fancy enough to serve for company & super simple. Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
This was fabulous and everyone raved about it! The only thing I would suggest is not to add nutmeg or seasonings until done--mine didn't need anything and it was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookline, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Good but pretty plain - didn't have nutmeg so maybe that would make it better for next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 570) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States