Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Great recipe , cold or hot. I made a few adjustments as recommended by reviewer IMVINTAGE. I added a dollop of greek yogart at the end and it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Delicious! Savored every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I followed the recipe as stated except I used half and half in stead of heavy cream. I was amazed how wonderful it was.! Nice consistency, flavor and eye appeal! Definitely would recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Loved it. And great idea in the reviews to roast the squash first and leave out the cream. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Really good. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Used chicken broth and whipping cream. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I thought this tasted pretty good. I only have one more recipe that I like more, because it has an apple added to it giving it a slightly sweet bite. It was so quick and easy to make though. All of the ingredients fit into a pot I have with 3" sides. I used 2 (12oz) packages of peeled and cubed butternut squash I bought from Trader Joes. When I measured both bags, together, they pretty much equaled the 4 cups. I have no patience to peel and cube a fresh squash. I used no-salt vegetable broth cubes. Once I added the broth, I cooked the vegetables for 15 minutes on medium high or approximately 7 on my stove. Then I turned off the heat and let it sit 5 more on that burner. I ladled it into the blender and processed about 30 seconds on speed 10 and then about 2 minutes on high. I tasted it and decided to add garlic salt, to taste, or about 1/2 tsp., and a dash extra of black pepper. I didn't add the optional heavy cream and it did not need it. I recalculated the calories without it and it came to 182.5 per serving. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This was great. Used fat free plain Greek yogurt instead of heavy cream. Wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
I've never made butternut squash soup before this came out nicely-- I easily got 4 servings. This recipe can take more than 1 hr to make if you pre-roast your squash.The second time I made it I cooked it in the microwave for 10 min with poked holes,1" water. I used 1 butternut squash which was enough for the proportions I used(approximately 9" long,9"around) If you forget to take out your seeds beforehand it can be done after. I recovered 2-1/4 cups of squash innards. I started on the stove after the squash was done in the oven. I cooked 1 onion (I love onions) in no more than 1tbsp of unsalted butter for 5-10 minutes; then I threw in my 3, small-ish rainbow carrots (also about 9" in length). It took me a while to scoop out all of the butternut squash innards, but they were super-soft, and I just stirred them in with the carrots and onions gradually, so the ingredients were together without stock for longer than usual. For stock: I poured in 3 to 3-1/2 cups of cold tap water into my pot, stirred, and then put in 3 teaspoons of Knorr chicken bouillon. B/c of this, I used no extra seasoning (family/guests can season their own bowls). Heated for 15-20 min(again: my squash was already cooked-->less cook time). I poured the soup into individual cups and bowls to cool faster -> food processor. Took 1/2hr to cool; pureed; was great without cream (let folks add to own bowls). Added 2 tbsp of cream to 2-1/2"c of soup and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
Very thick & velvety good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 568) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States