Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2013
I've recently started enjoying bisque, especially butternut squash, at restaurants. This was my first attempt and it was without a doubt the best I have ever had! So easy, so creamy, so flavorful! Like a fine wine, there were layers of flavor, especially the onion. I have so many new favorites because of this website and this is definitely one of them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chas
Living In: Spencer, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
I loved it! I am a beginner cook and found this recipe easy to follow.I added some fresh basil and parsley for flavor. And I'm not sure if the squash were just small but it took about 2 and 1/2 to make four cups. PS definitely bake the squash first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Just made this tonight. It was wonderful! I had never had butternut squash before and I am so happy that I tried this. I did roast squash first as recommended and it was very easy. The peeling part wasn't, but I will figure that out. There has to be an easier way, regardless, I loved this and can't wait to have it for lunch again tomorrow! Thank you for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
I used purchased cubed butternut squash from the supermarket so this was very quick to put together. I added 1 inch of fresh ginger to the blender; it adds a nice kick. I added some potatoes instead of the cream for a nice vegan version of this recipe. I shared some with a sick friend and she loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I followed it exactly as it was listed and it is delicious! I think cooking the squash in the broth instead of cooking it in the oven adds flavor because it gets to simmer in the seasonings. It is a little difficult to peel it, but it was totally worth it in the end. A little tip is to slice the skin with a sharp knife on a cutting board because it goes faster than a peeler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
I loved this soup! I am on Weight Watchers and could not believe the nutrition facts about this soup. I modified the recipe by making my own vegetable stock (no salt). That is the only modification I made and according to WW, the soup is 8 pts TOTAL, for the entire batch! I even added regular half and half. The homemade stock and pre-roasting the squash before hand was key. I did add a dash of sea salt to my bowl at the end. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Easy and good. I subbed curry powder for nutmeg and added a small pinch of rosemary. I also did the roast-the-squash-first trick in the microwave. My 2+ lb squash needed about 15 mins in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I really liked this recipe. I was a little unsure because I have only had butternut squash once and didn't care for it, but had one so decided to try it. Has good flavor and was really quick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My husband begs for this all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Absolutely delicious! This recipe is certainly a keeper. I am not a huge fan of altering recipes on my first try, but I had food in the oven and on the stovetop when I realized that I would need to substitute in chicken stock in place of the vegetable stock--but the soup still turned out beautifully. I also baked the squash instead of peeling and cubing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 581) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States