Butternut Squash Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Didn't change much in this. I always have squash roasted and frozen from fall harvesting, so I simple use what I have stored in the deep freeze. It makes making this so lightening fast. I use vegetable Better Than Bouillon for the broth. It has such a nice flavor in soups. I do use 1/2 and 1/2 to save a few calories:) We really enjoy this soup, and don't find it bland at all. I even forget the nutmeg all the time. Oh! well never missed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chickadee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beloit, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2013
An easy soup if you make as directed by keeping it simple and cook the squash first.Next time perhaps I will use something more healthy then heavy cream.I am trying to eat better, staying away from Fast food and pizza joints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
It was a good start, but it definitely needed something. I added mushrooms and a jalapeno. Perhaps the original recipe is based on a really flavorful veggie broth that didn't require much else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
This is a great recipe. I roast the squash first as others have recommended. I freeze half for a later day & it's still yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
The only thing I changed was to add a bit of garlic and a cinnamon stick and it was delicious. Everybody loved it. Luckily my grocery store sells the squash already cut up for about $3.00 a pound. Totally worth it to save the time and trouble of cutting it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri Justice

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
We substituted buttercup squash for the butternut (it's what we had), added grated fresh ginger and fresh garlic. We left out the cream, but added a little half and half in each bowl when serving--just a pretty swirl. It was absolutely delicious. I am making it again already b/c I have guests coming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I really liked this recipe. The carrots added a nice texture and consistency to the bisque. I used an immersion blender which worked wonders and saved dirtying up my food processor. The only thing I may try next time is adding some cream cheese to make it creamier, but overall I enjoyed the true taste of butternut squash more than anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Union Mills, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
not a fan. very bland and had the taste and texture of baby food. probably won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
Good, thick, but a tad too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Duncan, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
The nutmeg is very strong. Would not use more than a dash, literally. Otherwise, a good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 582) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States