Butternut Squash Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Substituted the blue cheese for tomato basil crumbled feta cheese. I also wanted more color to the dish so I added 1 cup of chopped kale. It was a great hit at the Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
The smell of this is wonderful when it comes out of the oven. I stuck to the recipe and the flavors meshed together very well. This would be a great dish for Thanksgiving. I only had a 2lb butternut so I halved the recipe and cooked in a 9x9 pan. I didn't have fresh thyme so I used dried, just adjusted the amount. I was wondering if I was doing the right thing since most of the comments said they used feta for blue cheese but we love blue cheese and I like to stick to the original recipes the first time trying on this site. Glad we did. I will say that I could see how feta would taste good also, and may try it that way one time too. Very, very good, the only reason it got a 4 and not a 5 was because it wasn't a WOW, but it is lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I was looking for a new, more savory, way to make squash and this is wonderful...marvelous... I like both squash and blue cheese and while I did not think they would go well together, this is really good. I had to sub the bread crumbs with the only cracker I had, an herb and garlic buttery cracker and I put in more blue cheese, and I do not regret it. I will definitely make this again and start bringing this to events so people think I am marvelous too....Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Wow! Yummier than I ever expected! Never had butternut squash before so was pleasantly surprised. Wanted to make something other than the usual soup recipes I see. Added 1 TB brown sugar (for my sweet toothed daughter); used feta since that's what I had. The slight sweetness with feta really was a hit! Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Since I thought it was slightly heavy on the onion flavor, next time I would use less onion or saute onion first before mixing with other ingredients. Otherwise it was a tasty twist for butternut squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
This was delicious, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
I have already made this 4 or 5 times and it's always a hit. super easy and really really delicious! i use goat cheese instead of blue cheese and whatever herbs i feel like throwing there [rosemary is my fav] and it's just perfect. great for potlucks, holiday meals or any dinner [though the prep/cook time is a bit long]! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Cavanaugh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
I had some left over butternut squash and read this recipe. I added a sweet potato, apple, and sweet onion to the mixture and through it all in a bag and added the olive oil, cinnamon, thyme, salt, pepper and then baked. Add the blue cheese near the end and found it to be exceptionally tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
i made this as directed and thought it was just ok. The family suggested that I not make it again. Most of it stayed in the pan. They are not picky eater. This just wasn't that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryant, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
This was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States