Butternut Squash Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was delish! I made some changes but just because I didn't have a few things. I used Panko bread crumbs with Italian Seasoning. Use the blue cheese, it added the right amount of savory taste to the sweet taste of the squash. I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betsy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Padre Island, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I'm sorry but this was not good. My husband who normally eats anything I put in front of him gave up on this after 1 bitel. It had way too much blue cheese and the cheese just didn't go with the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Not something that jumped out at me... I think I'll stick with my creamy Butternut Squash soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
This was AMAZING! In my family, I am the only one who does not curl their nose at squash. I did, however, want to try making it in a less traditional way (aka sweet with brown sugar, butter and such). I can't believe how much I liked the squash with the bleu cheese. I am typically not a fan of bleu cheese but I loved it with this meal. I ate it with the Kalua Pork recipe (also amazing, easy and on this website) but think next time I will make it with steak. One last thing... my 5 year old ate it and so did my 40 year old husband. That is a HUGE accomplishment.... they loved it too. (super easy to make this if you use pre cut squash from the super market too).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WestCoastJana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
I added peas to add some texture and a little sweet taste and it was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is really tasty and easy to make. I am so glad to finally have a good recipe for butternut squash. I used reduced fat blue cheese, and whole grain bread crumbs. It came out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oak Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I was very skeptical of the squash feta combination that was suggested by some reviewers. I just couldn't imagine those two ingredients together. However, I didn't have any blue cheese on hand, so I decided to be brave and give this recipe a try. I am SO glad that I did! What a wonderful recipe. Thank you for sharing! So happy to have found this little gem! Will definitely give it a try with blue cheese next time to compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Newton Pause

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairlee, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wilder, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
Excllent dish. Very flavorfull and easy to prepare
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
A nice savory side using butternut squash. I find that most recipes call for cinnamon and nutmeg, so I really appreciated this different take. The natural flavor of the squash perfectly compliments the bite of the bleu cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity516

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chelsea, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jersey City, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I love this recipe and it needs no changes as it. But, based on what you have, you can substitute different kinds of cheese (we've used fresh parm and feta) and spices (sage). My fiance likes it and he normally won't touch squash. I serve this with a side of ham for him. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Baked Butternut Squash

Watch how to make this easy side dish of oven-baked butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States