Butternut Squash Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
My husband bragged about this to our family for days. He couldn't stop eating it and begged me to make more. I used feta cheese instead and added some ground up Fiber one for added fiber and some panko for added crunch and mixed it with the bread crumbs. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
This was an excellent dish! I was concerned about everything drying out from not being covered for 40 minutes, but it turned out fine. I had to improvise a little, but the base of the dish was still an excellent idea. I used parmesan bread crumbs and added italian type herbs to them. Didn't have any blue cheese to add, but the squash stood on its own merit. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
Just made this for dinner tonight! OMG, it's sooooo delicious!!!! I baked it for about 45 minutes...and added about 1/2 cup of bread crumbs on the top instead of a 1/4 of a cup and added a few more ounces of blue cheese. Soooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissyB

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
this is always gets finished when i bring it to a potluck and people want more. there is so much flavor, it is so easy, and so versatile. most of the time i don't even use the thyme because i don't have it on hand. it tastes great with leeks too, for a more mild onion flavor component.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is a fantastic concept. I love the savory treatment of butternut. I get sick of it being treated luke a sweet potato. Of course, I have a couple of comments. I added tart diced Apple to the casserole, and cut the cheese back a bit. It was a little much for my taste. I prob used about 2/3 of the cheese. The Apple was a wonderful touch. I did have to cover it with foil because it was losing too much moisture and browning too quickly on the top, while the underside was still crunchy. Delicious! What a great idea! I am going to try mixing it up even mire with different cheeses and maybe some walnuts. Will definitely make again, but I do think its one of those recipes that you have to make a couple times to tweak to your taste because the flavors are pretty bold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by icountbeans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
no one in my family liked this, including me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Probably one of the best recipes I've ever made. You wouldn't think butternut squash and blue cheese would work, but the flavors compliment each other perfectly. I made this a few nights ago and went out to buy the ingredients again today!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smyrna, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Hands down, this is the best squash recipe I've ever made. I used feta instead of blue cheese and panko bread crumbs. And if you're lucky enough to have leftovers, this is even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wisconsin Dells, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This was really tasty & satisfying. I loved the flavor of the blue cheese blended in..yummm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzi Homemaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Hartford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
Loved this recipe. Have made it several times in a variety of ways. Last time I used feta cheese, added brussel sprouts and some browned crumbled italian sausage. Made a wonderful one bowl meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States