Butternut Squash Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I used feta cheese instead of blue cheese after reading reviews that suggest it (since I don't like blue cheese). I also used home made bread crumbs and seasoning and didn't measure but it was more bread crumbs than suggested and I think that it was needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Great recipe. I didn't have blue cheese so I used mozzarella. I think the next time I will either use blue as recommended or pepper jack. The mozzarella didn't have enough bite in it but it was a great recipe and so much better than just baking it which I am used to. Great change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
So good! Comfort food in a fairly healthy form.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very good. I used Macedonian sirenje (similar to feta) instead of blue cheese, crushed crackers instead of bread crumbs, and a basil/oregano spice mix for the thyme. Super tasty and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
I've never cooked butternut squash before, but we LOVED this casserole dish, and will serve it for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
this was ok for us. the blue cheese took over the flavor of the dish. topped with panko (unseasoned) which didn't help as it was very bland. thanks for the post THT. **edit - the leftovers mixed with some cooked pasta w/mixed veggies turned this into a nice leftover main dish sprinkled with some parm & black pepper.**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
OMG! This turned out fantastic! What a great mix of flavors! I can't help tweek recipes to make them healthier (in my opinion). I used much less olive oil, no additional salt and less bread crumbs and added hot pepper, pine nuts and arugula...for me a perfect main dish! I did stir 3/4 through the baking and got more uniformed crunchy brownness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Boring until you add this: cranberries, bacon crumbles, shredded carrots, corn and walnuts on top of the blue cheese and cubed squash, I also used red onion instead-what a hit! I am making it for Thanksgiving now by request. Also, you can add some elbow macoroni to make it go farther...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2012
Yum! We had leftovers so I made "applesauce by cooking it down with a bit of water and more cinnamon. Great in applesauce pancakes, applesauce bread...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
Very tasty--probably one of my favorite dishes for butternut squash. I did try cooking this dish in a small casserole type dish which made it very hard to bake the squash in the center so I definitely recommend using a large dish like a 9x13 in pan and then spreading it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cajun Fries

See how to make spicy, salty, slightly sweet baked squash fries.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States