Butternut Squash Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I didn't measure anything! Used a little less blue cheese, and substituted Italian seasoning for Tyme (didn't have any). Had to bake a little longer due to some piece not being soft in 40 min. Will make many more times!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
I added chick peas for some protein, love this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daddy-O

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynn, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Concord, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I have made this a few times now. Get the "surprised" rave review every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrie143

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
I was actually leary of making this because of the blue cheese but this was AN EXCELLENT DISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This was a tasty take on squash - and the salty Roquefort cheese balanced it perfectly. When folks change one key ingredient (or more), I find it troubling that they knock the recipe...it's great to offer suggestions, but if you didn't follow as written, how can you ding the recipe?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
This was fantastic! I made it almost exactly as written, except I used a red onion instead of white, since that's what I had, and used Italian panko instead of regular Italian bread crumbs. We loved it. My mother-in-law went back for seconds, which she almost never does, and hubby raved about it, even though he's usually not a huge squash fan. We loved the contrast of the tangy blue cheese with the mild sweetness of the squash! I will absolutely be making this again, sooner rather than later (I think the household may revolt if I don't.) One small tweak I'll make is to slightly reduce the oil -- it seemed just a little more oily than it needed to be. If I get really motivated, I might toss the panko/bread crumbs that go on top in a tiny bit of butter, too ... that always crisps nicely. But those are the only things I'd change, and they're trivial. Thanks for sharing such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elizabeth

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Substituted the blue cheese for tomato basil crumbled feta cheese. I also wanted more color to the dish so I added 1 cup of chopped kale. It was a great hit at the Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
The smell of this is wonderful when it comes out of the oven. I stuck to the recipe and the flavors meshed together very well. This would be a great dish for Thanksgiving. I only had a 2lb butternut so I halved the recipe and cooked in a 9x9 pan. I didn't have fresh thyme so I used dried, just adjusted the amount. I was wondering if I was doing the right thing since most of the comments said they used feta for blue cheese but we love blue cheese and I like to stick to the original recipes the first time trying on this site. Glad we did. I will say that I could see how feta would taste good also, and may try it that way one time too. Very, very good, the only reason it got a 4 and not a 5 was because it wasn't a WOW, but it is lovely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I was looking for a new, more savory, way to make squash and this is wonderful...marvelous... I like both squash and blue cheese and while I did not think they would go well together, this is really good. I had to sub the bread crumbs with the only cracker I had, an herb and garlic buttery cracker and I put in more blue cheese, and I do not regret it. I will definitely make this again and start bringing this to events so people think I am marvelous too....Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Wow! Yummier than I ever expected! Never had butternut squash before so was pleasantly surprised. Wanted to make something other than the usual soup recipes I see. Added 1 TB brown sugar (for my sweet toothed daughter); used feta since that's what I had. The slight sweetness with feta really was a hit! Will definitely make again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States