Butternut Squash Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2015
I made a couple changes- used a whole onion, used plain Panko breadcrumbs and added a little Italian seasoning, omitted the cheese and added five chopped sliced of TURKEY BACON! definitely will make this again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Herndon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2015
Didn't have blue cheese crumbles but had Marie's blue cheese dressing. I used 1/2 cup instead , came out great, and cut oil in half!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
This is good, but I had to youtube about peeling and dicing a squash. I can't believe no one complained about that. This is excellent but only if you like bleu cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SangWeech
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
This was a great find. I enjoy a bit more texture and wanted it meat free, so I added a meatless crumble, sauteed with minced onion and bellpepper. Grated Parmigiana in addition to the blue cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
This is a delicious and an easy recipe, especially if you buy the squash already cubed. The blue cheese defines the taste, and the baked bread crumbs add a nice consistency. We make it regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I'd go much heavier on the Thyme. Also, if you only plan for 35 minutes of cook time, cube the squash small! I had slightly larger cubes (1.5" or so), and I had to cook it for nearly an hour before they were soft to the center. That's after microwaving the whole squash for 5 minutes on high first! I also recommend broiling the dish for the last 5-minutes or so to make it crispier on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
very bland, couldn't eat on its own & had to add spaghetti sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Eacret
Home Town: Tahoma, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2015
It was pretty good but I think it's better as a side than a main dish. I couldn't find a 4 lb squash so I got two 2 lb squashes and I ended up with waaay to much squash for a single baking dish. I ended up using about 2/3 of it which filled a 9x13 pan and eyeball reduced the other ingredients proportionately. I liked how the the flavors worked together and it smelled so good while it was baking. Oh and I did have to cook it longer than 35 min (about 45ish min), and even when I finally took it out to keep the top from burning, most of the middle was still crispy but tasted OK. I cut the squash into 1/2-3/4 in cubes. Next time I think I will parboil the chunks before combining with the other ingredients and baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
I absolutely loved this dish I did make some slight changes. To "lighten" it up a bit, I used roughly half the olive oil. I used less blue cheese than called for & used the low-fat version. I didn't have fresh thyme, so I used about a teaspoon of Italian seasoning. Even with these changes, it was so good! The slight sweet nature of the squash, with the saltiness of the blue cheese is absolutely delicious! If made exactly as the recipe is written, I believe it would b even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Great recipe! I substituted the blue cheese for mozzarella, as well as adding a few more things, onions, pepper, and garlic. Turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Montana Banana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Red Curry Butternut Squash

See how to make a flavorful curried squash side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States