Butternut Squash, Apple, Onion Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Delicious. The whole family loved this and requested it for next year. Thanks Laura for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blonddee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Brook, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
My girlfriend made this for our recipe club and it was great! I made it with a pork roast and it was simple and yummy! A different approach to scallped potatoes...a great side dish for the Holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MNIKOLAISEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Manchester, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ButtercupBento
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I made this as a main dish (serves 4) served with crusty bread. I didn't have 4 apples in so used 1 apple, 1 onion finely sliced, 6 small new potatoes and 1/2 cup apple juice and 1/2 cup veggie stock. Next time I would halve the amount of liquid as it was quite soupy, add pepper and some chilli flakes or similar to give it a bit of a kick. Veg was sliced to 0.5 to 1cm and it took the right amount of time to cook to perfection. Simple to make and tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Excellent side dish. My vegetarian nephew loved it(used vegie broth), and my mother-in-law declared it a keeper - for special occasions. My husband enjoyed it too. Had to cook almost an hour though. My butternut squash was probably sliced too thick (about 1/2 inch wide or so) for it to cook in 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
We enjoyed this recipe. Changes...added uncooked chicken breast chunks with other ingredients to slow cooker. I cut squash in varying sizes up to 1x1, so big pieces had some integrity after cooking all day on low. I didn't bother with the flour part, but did put the cinnamon in the crockpot. I added the cheese on top before serving. Good one-dish meal for fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2005
This was simple to make and quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I combined suggestions by previous testers, introduced my own touches, and my husband absolutely loved it! (1) I used only 1/2 c broth which, as other testers commented, was the perfect amount. (2) Based on another AllRecipes member suggestion, I used red pepper, which gave it another flavor tone. (3) I cubed the squash, apples, and onions into large pieces, because I like chunky casseroles. (4) Because of the size of the chunks, I baked for roughly 90 minutes, possibly even 2 hours (lost track), at 350 F. No worse for wear by baking longer--just made the squash, apples, and onions more tender. (5) Instead of white flour, I used 1/4 c wheat germ on a whim, and then added a dusting of whole wheat flour. This absorbed the the liquid, creating a thick binding "sauce", and added an extra element of mouthfeel. (6) I didn't bother "layering" but instead tossed all the ingredients together, which I liked because the cheese was distributed throughout. I used 50% fat reduced Colby cheddar cheese. Tossing the shredded cheese throughout helped hide the fact that as usual, it didn't melt terribly well. The cheese combined with the broth to help create a sauce. Instead of sprinkling the bacon only on the top, I also tossed crisped turkey bacon through the casserole towards the end of the baking time. (7) To save on calories, I didn't grease the Anchor Hocking glass casserole dish I used. There was absolutely no need because nothing stuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Holy Moly, this was tasty! I improvised a little by only adding 1/2 cup vegatable stock, sweet potatoes, more cinnamon, and a vidalia oinion sauce to top it all off. One of the tastiest things I had a pleasure of making. Thanks for the idea, it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
My kids totally raved over this recipe. I added chunks of uncooked chicken breast, and sliced baby potatoes. I poured off some of the stock before I returned it to the oven, as it wouldve been too much liquid, but having it there to start with kept it moist. I will be making this a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Great tasting, easy enough to prepare and good for you. What more could you ask for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States