Butternut Squash, Apple, Onion Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I made this recipe as written, and my husband and I had the same reaction: "Hmm." It was odd. I love apple and cheddar together, and I like all of the ingrediants, but the result was not the interesting mix of sweet and savory I expected. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't great, either. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This was tasty. I don't eat bacon, so I left it out. The cheese is a must. I will leave the apples out next time for my personal taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I added chicken cubed up to make it a one dish meal and ommitted the bacon. It turned out strangely good, but not fantastic. I would use less squash, more apple, and definitely more cinnamon as I think thats what made it. Make sure you get a good coating of the flour mixture on everything ( I did 2 batches and doubled the flour mixture.) Love the onion/apple/cheese mixture. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Cheddar cheese is NOT a flavor that compliments cinammon and sweetness of apples. Just think about it. Would you put cheese and bacon on a pie?! There are other squash bakes that involve butter, brown sugar, spices, and egg. Squash alone is good with butter, butter/sugar, only spices, syrup, ... Don't try the cheese, even though you may be a super cheese lover like me! Don't waste a good squash and 40 minutes prep time to strike out. I just mention that I like everything, and have never made something I didn't like until now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
My family said they liked it but I didn't love it. I followed the advice of others and used 1/2 the chicken stock and added more cinnamon. I think you could go with 2 tbls of cinnamon. I also threw in some more cheese. Just cause I love more cheese. Not sure if I'll try it again, although the advice of throwing in some chicken for a one dish meal sounds like a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Another huge hit with the family. I used shallots instead of the onion as that's all i had in at the time, but it still worked. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ingoldmells, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Great tasting, easy enough to prepare and good for you. What more could you ask for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
My kids totally raved over this recipe. I added chunks of uncooked chicken breast, and sliced baby potatoes. I poured off some of the stock before I returned it to the oven, as it wouldve been too much liquid, but having it there to start with kept it moist. I will be making this a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Extremely easy, but not the tastiest side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This was very good, and easy to make. The combination of flavors is unusual and different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RESA1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mc Farland, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States