Butternut Squash, Apple, Onion Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
I combined suggestions by previous testers, introduced my own touches, and my husband absolutely loved it! (1) I used only 1/2 c broth which, as other testers commented, was the perfect amount. (2) Based on another AllRecipes member suggestion, I used red pepper, which gave it another flavor tone. (3) I cubed the squash, apples, and onions into large pieces, because I like chunky casseroles. (4) Because of the size of the chunks, I baked for roughly 90 minutes, possibly even 2 hours (lost track), at 350 F. No worse for wear by baking longer--just made the squash, apples, and onions more tender. (5) Instead of white flour, I used 1/4 c wheat germ on a whim, and then added a dusting of whole wheat flour. This absorbed the the liquid, creating a thick binding "sauce", and added an extra element of mouthfeel. (6) I didn't bother "layering" but instead tossed all the ingredients together, which I liked because the cheese was distributed throughout. I used 50% fat reduced Colby cheddar cheese. Tossing the shredded cheese throughout helped hide the fact that as usual, it didn't melt terribly well. The cheese combined with the broth to help create a sauce. Instead of sprinkling the bacon only on the top, I also tossed crisped turkey bacon through the casserole towards the end of the baking time. (7) To save on calories, I didn't grease the Anchor Hocking glass casserole dish I used. There was absolutely no need because nothing stuck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This review is written by a family that typically would not eat squash. We are a meat and potatoes family and don't usually venture from the very typical brocolli, green beans, peas, carrots types of veggies. I was unsure of this recipe, but had a squash I needed to use. This recipe sounded the most appealing to me. My daughter had 3 helpings! My son ate 1 and everyone liked it, though it was pretty unanimous that more cheese would have been better. The sweet flavor with the sharp cheddar was a great contrast. Personally, I could have done without the cinnamon too because it made the apple taste like apple pie and that threw me off. We chopped everything into 1/2" cubes, tossed it in the flour mixture, added the cheese and bacon to the bag and tossed that too, then added it all to the dish, poured 1/2 c broth over it and sprinkled a few red pepper flakes on it. I baked it for about an hour. So next time, personally, I'd take the cinnamon out and maybe add a bit of cayenne or something to spice it up a tiny bit. The red pepper flakes were good, but too hot for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I made this recipe as written, and my husband and I had the same reaction: "Hmm." It was odd. I love apple and cheddar together, and I like all of the ingrediants, but the result was not the interesting mix of sweet and savory I expected. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't great, either. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This is an excellent way to serve squash to some one who does not like it. Because of this recipe my husband is now a squash convert. He never liked it before, and starting him out with this delicious recipe opened the door for me to try others on him. Great recipe. Oh and by the way, if there are any leftovers you can use a blender or immersion blender with some chicken stock and make a really excellent squash soup. Just blend adding chicken stock slowly to the desired thickness and then heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ButtercupBento
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
I made this as a main dish (serves 4) served with crusty bread. I didn't have 4 apples in so used 1 apple, 1 onion finely sliced, 6 small new potatoes and 1/2 cup apple juice and 1/2 cup veggie stock. Next time I would halve the amount of liquid as it was quite soupy, add pepper and some chilli flakes or similar to give it a bit of a kick. Veg was sliced to 0.5 to 1cm and it took the right amount of time to cook to perfection. Simple to make and tasty too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ButtercupBento

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stoke-On-Trent, Staffordshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Brighton, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
YUM! I know what's going to be on our Thanksgiving table! I am vegetarian, so this is what I did. 1 butternut squash, peeled and cubed (I just used one of the small ones from last co-op pickup, about half the size of a conventional one) 1/2 red onion, diced 1 apple, diced 1/4 C flour 1 cup of water with one vegetable bouillon cube dissolved in it 3 strips of veggie bacon, cooked and crumbled 2 slices of sharp cheddar cheese, chopped salt itty bitty dash of cinnamon I baked at 350 in my Pampered Chef Mini Baker (stoneware) until the squash was tender, stirring once. Paired great with my curry dish too! So colorful using the red onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
Cooking time for this recipe clearly fell short of that required in order to tenderize the ingredients. Allow 60-90 minutes of oven time. For my family's tastes, bacon crumbles would be optional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
We enjoyed this recipe. Changes...added uncooked chicken breast chunks with other ingredients to slow cooker. I cut squash in varying sizes up to 1x1, so big pieces had some integrity after cooking all day on low. I didn't bother with the flour part, but did put the cinnamon in the crockpot. I added the cheese on top before serving. Good one-dish meal for fall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was such a delicious side dish!! I di as some of the other users recommended and halved the chicken sotck, and used 1/2 c of cheddar and 1/2 c mozzerella. This was so tasty, such a wonderful array of flavors!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Gallagher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
Delicious. The whole family loved this and requested it for next year. Thanks Laura for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blonddee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pine Brook, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States