Butternut Squash, Apple, Onion Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I was a bit surprised at first bite at how it tasted, but liked it more the further I got into it. I went with other member's suggestions and decreased the amount of stock. I would probably add a bit more salt next time because it was definately lacking something. All in all, it was okay. I will probably make it again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2007
I made this recipe as written, and my husband and I had the same reaction: "Hmm." It was odd. I love apple and cheddar together, and I like all of the ingrediants, but the result was not the interesting mix of sweet and savory I expected. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't great, either. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This was tasty. I don't eat bacon, so I left it out. The cheese is a must. I will leave the apples out next time for my personal taste preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara B.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I added chicken cubed up to make it a one dish meal and ommitted the bacon. It turned out strangely good, but not fantastic. I would use less squash, more apple, and definitely more cinnamon as I think thats what made it. Make sure you get a good coating of the flour mixture on everything ( I did 2 batches and doubled the flour mixture.) Love the onion/apple/cheese mixture. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Cheddar cheese is NOT a flavor that compliments cinammon and sweetness of apples. Just think about it. Would you put cheese and bacon on a pie?! There are other squash bakes that involve butter, brown sugar, spices, and egg. Squash alone is good with butter, butter/sugar, only spices, syrup, ... Don't try the cheese, even though you may be a super cheese lover like me! Don't waste a good squash and 40 minutes prep time to strike out. I just mention that I like everything, and have never made something I didn't like until now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
My family said they liked it but I didn't love it. I followed the advice of others and used 1/2 the chicken stock and added more cinnamon. I think you could go with 2 tbls of cinnamon. I also threw in some more cheese. Just cause I love more cheese. Not sure if I'll try it again, although the advice of throwing in some chicken for a one dish meal sounds like a great idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
Another huge hit with the family. I used shallots instead of the onion as that's all i had in at the time, but it still worked. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ingoldmells, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Lincoln, Lincolnshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2007
Great tasting, easy enough to prepare and good for you. What more could you ask for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig J. Doucette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2007
My kids totally raved over this recipe. I added chunks of uncooked chicken breast, and sliced baby potatoes. I poured off some of the stock before I returned it to the oven, as it wouldve been too much liquid, but having it there to start with kept it moist. I will be making this a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
Extremely easy, but not the tastiest side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States