Butternut Squash, Apple, Onion Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
This review is written by a family that typically would not eat squash. We are a meat and potatoes family and don't usually venture from the very typical brocolli, green beans, peas, carrots types of veggies. I was unsure of this recipe, but had a squash I needed to use. This recipe sounded the most appealing to me. My daughter had 3 helpings! My son ate 1 and everyone liked it, though it was pretty unanimous that more cheese would have been better. The sweet flavor with the sharp cheddar was a great contrast. Personally, I could have done without the cinnamon too because it made the apple taste like apple pie and that threw me off. We chopped everything into 1/2" cubes, tossed it in the flour mixture, added the cheese and bacon to the bag and tossed that too, then added it all to the dish, poured 1/2 c broth over it and sprinkled a few red pepper flakes on it. I baked it for about an hour. So next time, personally, I'd take the cinnamon out and maybe add a bit of cayenne or something to spice it up a tiny bit. The red pepper flakes were good, but too hot for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
YUM! I know what's going to be on our Thanksgiving table! I am vegetarian, so this is what I did. 1 butternut squash, peeled and cubed (I just used one of the small ones from last co-op pickup, about half the size of a conventional one) 1/2 red onion, diced 1 apple, diced 1/4 C flour 1 cup of water with one vegetable bouillon cube dissolved in it 3 strips of veggie bacon, cooked and crumbled 2 slices of sharp cheddar cheese, chopped salt itty bitty dash of cinnamon I baked at 350 in my Pampered Chef Mini Baker (stoneware) until the squash was tender, stirring once. Paired great with my curry dish too! So colorful using the red onion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
This was such a delicious side dish!! I di as some of the other users recommended and halved the chicken sotck, and used 1/2 c of cheddar and 1/2 c mozzerella. This was so tasty, such a wonderful array of flavors!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Gallagher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I thought this was DELICIOUS! Of course i made a few modifications. I used monterey jack cheese only because that is what I had on hand and I added some nutmeg. The next time I make this I will use more bacon however i thought it was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alannlillysmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sewell, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
I didn't really care for this recipe. The tastes were awkward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Carpentersville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
This is an excellent way to serve squash to some one who does not like it. Because of this recipe my husband is now a squash convert. He never liked it before, and starting him out with this delicious recipe opened the door for me to try others on him. Great recipe. Oh and by the way, if there are any leftovers you can use a blender or immersion blender with some chicken stock and make a really excellent squash soup. Just blend adding chicken stock slowly to the desired thickness and then heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamlin, New York, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This was really good! I did make a few changes: I added more onion than called for, added some raisins, and used 1/2 cup broth like other people recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
This was absolutely delicious. The most tasty prepared squash I have ever had. I'll be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. McGriff

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I was a bit underwhelmed by this but I think it was because in the Thanksgiving whirlwind of cooking, I forgot to add the cheese on top. Without it, the dish is a bit bland but I fully intend on trying this again sometime with the cheese. My family did enjoy it so I suppose I can't really complain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elyria, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sheldon, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2007
I was a bit surprised at first bite at how it tasted, but liked it more the further I got into it. I went with other member's suggestions and decreased the amount of stock. I would probably add a bit more salt next time because it was definately lacking something. All in all, it was okay. I will probably make it again with some modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States