Butternut Squash, Apple, Onion Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
It sounds a bit odd, but it was SO good! The only change I made was to increase the bacon (and when is that ever bad?!) to make it more of a main dish. Sweet and savory, and made from all root cellared items....couldn't be better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winneconne, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Really liked this dish, might use it for Thanksgiving. Was great as a leftover also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Fantastic. Left the bacon out, and used veggie stock. Threw everything in the slow cooker, and cooked on high for 4 hours. After that it was a party going on in my mouth! A definite repeatable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Like somebody else has already commented, I like all of the individual ingredients in this dish, but it just didn't seem to come together the way I expected it too. My family just didn't like it. It tasted too much of the apple cinnamon combination. I think if I was to make it again, I would cube the ingredients, omit the cinnamon, add more savoury spices and possibly some bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I just thought this was okay. It was sooo much work for the outcome. I definitely don't think it was worth it. I think I like me butternut squash to just be a bit more sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I really wanted to like this, as all the ingredients I love individually. However, I found this dish to be a BIG disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I used this recipe with spaghetti squash and it was delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I left out the cheese. It didn't need it. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryland mom
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Delicious recipe! My in-laws had given me a butternut squash from their garden and I had no clue what to do with it, especially sine my husband doesn't like vegetables. We did not have any bacon so I omitted that. We were also short on apples so I used 2 apples plus 2 pears. I also added a half cup of whole cranberries. I didn't miss the bacon but the added texture would have been nice. Next time I may add some walnuts. Thanks LJFQ27
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
The only modifications I made were using the entire bag of pre-grated cheese & vegtable broth (I didn't have chicken on hand). I took it to a dinner party & it won HUGE raves. A perfect autumn dish & adequate as a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States