Butternut Squash, Apple, Onion Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
It sounds a bit odd, but it was SO good! The only change I made was to increase the bacon (and when is that ever bad?!) to make it more of a main dish. Sweet and savory, and made from all root cellared items....couldn't be better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winneconne, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Really liked this dish, might use it for Thanksgiving. Was great as a leftover also
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Fantastic. Left the bacon out, and used veggie stock. Threw everything in the slow cooker, and cooked on high for 4 hours. After that it was a party going on in my mouth! A definite repeatable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Like somebody else has already commented, I like all of the individual ingredients in this dish, but it just didn't seem to come together the way I expected it too. My family just didn't like it. It tasted too much of the apple cinnamon combination. I think if I was to make it again, I would cube the ingredients, omit the cinnamon, add more savoury spices and possibly some bread crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
I just thought this was okay. It was sooo much work for the outcome. I definitely don't think it was worth it. I think I like me butternut squash to just be a bit more sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Orono, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I really wanted to like this, as all the ingredients I love individually. However, I found this dish to be a BIG disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I used this recipe with spaghetti squash and it was delicious...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I left out the cheese. It didn't need it. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maryland mom
Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Delicious recipe! My in-laws had given me a butternut squash from their garden and I had no clue what to do with it, especially sine my husband doesn't like vegetables. We did not have any bacon so I omitted that. We were also short on apples so I used 2 apples plus 2 pears. I also added a half cup of whole cranberries. I didn't miss the bacon but the added texture would have been nice. Next time I may add some walnuts. Thanks LJFQ27
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
The only modifications I made were using the entire bag of pre-grated cheese & vegtable broth (I didn't have chicken on hand). I took it to a dinner party & it won HUGE raves. A perfect autumn dish & adequate as a main course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Missoula, Montana, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States