Butternut Squash, Apple, Onion Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was a wonderful dish.....enjoyed the flavors! However, we did use some vegetable stock because it was opened, and used the fresh bacon bits (Hormel I think), in lieu of frying up bacon. My granddaughter had purchased a whole container of peeled, cut up squash (from Costco), so it was easy enough to fix and not nearly as time consuming as peeling & cutting up. It's a must to do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Raves and an empty dish is all we're left with. :o) Yummm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This is a delicious and unique way to enjoy squash and apples. My family enjoyed the flavor, but I won't be making it again. Who wants to spend their evening peeling and slicing a butternut squash? Unless you're out to impress, you are DESPERATE for something new to do with all your squash, or you have a ton of time on your hands, this recipe is waaay too time-consuming to be a regular. I'd much rather stick the squash in the oven, leave it alone an hour, and scoop it out with a spoon, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
The dish turned out AMAZING. The only thing that I noticed, is the dish needed to be cooked longer than stated in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I concur with a previous reviewer, this was odd tasting. It was fun to prepare, but I was very disappointed with the outcome. I added brown sugar to make it more palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Additional cooking was required. Next time, I will cut the squash much smaller, after all , the apples will cook much faster than squash. Taste was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
I thought this was not all that great. I guess I just don't like butternut squash very much. I made it exactly as written, but I suppose that the "sliced" squash should have been fairly thin, since in my case, about half the squash was still pretty hard after cooking. The apples were somewhat nice, though (I used Golden Delicious). I must note that this did not reheat very well at all; I had leftovers for several days and they were kind of yucky. Sorry, but I'm pretty sure I won't be making this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
This was very good! We made is a main course, though (added feta for protein) and it was too rich for that! But as a side it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
this was an excellent dish we loved it !!! despite the gas it gave us we came back for seconds hahaha!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by travslove94

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Sensational, and truly unique. I took the liberty of caramelizing the onions and layering them separately. Don't be afraid to experiment with some sausage in place of the bacon too. Looks beautiful in my small dutch oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States