Butternut Squash, Apple, Onion Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
I am vegetarian and eat dairy and eggs and made this to take to my busy friend and her husband on a night that she has a class after work. They like veggie dishes and I made the dish as written except diced veggies into about 1/2" pieces. I used vegetable broth and reduced fat cheese because my bag of grated cheddar had fused itself into one big hard chunk and I didn't feel like re-grating it after chopping all those veggies. The ingredients filled a sprayed, glass 8" square dish, covered with foil and baked @350 in a CONVECTION oven. The veggies were NOT TENDER, even after an extra 20-25 minutes. Since my microwave was not working I couldn't finish in there and this flop ended up being a big embarrassment. I will try this recipe again, but will allow a much longer cooking time or may microwave veggies until partly tender before assembling casserole. Rather time consuming as written and will be more so if microwaved first too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Made a huge batch for a church potluck. It was all gone quickly! I had to substitute mixed tropical fruit and peaches for the apples, because I found I didn't have any after I started making it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Next time I make this I would omit the Cinnamon, 1/2 the liquid, and add 1 cup medium cheddar along with the Sharp cheddar. I added cubed chicken and that made it a one pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Croft

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I made this with kobucha squash and Asiago. My husband had never eaten squash of any kind, and swore that he never would...until I made this! He ate almost the entire dish- I managed to get a little for myself- and asked me to make it again soon. It's on the list for Thanksgiving this year, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
decrease the amount of flour. I made it with gluten free flour. Needs a little brown sugar in the coating mixture and more cinnamon. Also, try adding toasted pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I am trying to eat a healthier lifestyle so I tried this with 1/2 the cheese and no bacon. It was good but not great. I too added a little pepper flakes. I've never had butternut squash before so I cut the chucks too large and took twice as long to bake. Think I will make for Thanksgiving with all the stuff in it and everyone will like it. I think alot of cheddar would taste great I just didn't want all the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Awesome, awesome awesome!!! I used just two apples and left out the bacon. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Not bad, but the timing is off - after over 45 minutes in the oven (40 covered with the foil), everything was still very crunchy. It needs MUCH longer - I left it in for another 20 minutes or so, and wish I had time to leave it longer. But by that time I was really hungry, so I pulled it out and served it anyway! That was my main issue. The flavor was all right, but even though I love these ingredients combined in other dishes (apples and onions, apples and squash, squash and onions), I'm not sure I liked them all combined together. Or maybe it was the chicken broth. Something about the flavor was just okay to me and didn't really seem to mesh. Still, a nutritious dish that has good potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I have made this several times. And always get rave reviews. My sister "stole" half of the leftovers and wanted the recipe! Coworkers finished the pan at our pot luck luncheon, and then wanted to know " what was that?" Family ask for it when the squash first comes out of the garden. A good sharp knife cuts the squash easy. I peel it after I cut it into slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This was fabulous. I may use less broth next time as it was a bit wet just to save the broth but did not affect the presentation or taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Baked Butternut Squash

Enjoy as a simple side or turn it into a delicious soup or filling for ravioli.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States