Butternut Squash, Apple, Onion Au Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2013
Made a huge batch for a church potluck. It was all gone quickly! I had to substitute mixed tropical fruit and peaches for the apples, because I found I didn't have any after I started making it. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Next time I make this I would omit the Cinnamon, 1/2 the liquid, and add 1 cup medium cheddar along with the Sharp cheddar. I added cubed chicken and that made it a one pot meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
I made this with kobucha squash and Asiago. My husband had never eaten squash of any kind, and swore that he never would...until I made this! He ate almost the entire dish- I managed to get a little for myself- and asked me to make it again soon. It's on the list for Thanksgiving this year, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
decrease the amount of flour. I made it with gluten free flour. Needs a little brown sugar in the coating mixture and more cinnamon. Also, try adding toasted pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I am trying to eat a healthier lifestyle so I tried this with 1/2 the cheese and no bacon. It was good but not great. I too added a little pepper flakes. I've never had butternut squash before so I cut the chucks too large and took twice as long to bake. Think I will make for Thanksgiving with all the stuff in it and everyone will like it. I think alot of cheddar would taste great I just didn't want all the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Awesome, awesome awesome!!! I used just two apples and left out the bacon. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Not bad, but the timing is off - after over 45 minutes in the oven (40 covered with the foil), everything was still very crunchy. It needs MUCH longer - I left it in for another 20 minutes or so, and wish I had time to leave it longer. But by that time I was really hungry, so I pulled it out and served it anyway! That was my main issue. The flavor was all right, but even though I love these ingredients combined in other dishes (apples and onions, apples and squash, squash and onions), I'm not sure I liked them all combined together. Or maybe it was the chicken broth. Something about the flavor was just okay to me and didn't really seem to mesh. Still, a nutritious dish that has good potential!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TribePride

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
I have made this several times. And always get rave reviews. My sister "stole" half of the leftovers and wanted the recipe! Coworkers finished the pan at our pot luck luncheon, and then wanted to know " what was that?" Family ask for it when the squash first comes out of the garden. A good sharp knife cuts the squash easy. I peel it after I cut it into slices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
This was fabulous. I may use less broth next time as it was a bit wet just to save the broth but did not affect the presentation or taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Castle, Delaware, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
really liked it, left out the cheese and bacon as we are trying to cut calories. Used a whole can of chicken broth. Sliced everything really thin and was soft at the 40 minute mark. Will be making it again as a simple healthy and tasty sidedish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mango, Bacon, and Butternut Squash Hash

See how to make a perfectly paleo-friendly hash.

Butternut Squash Pizzas with Rosemary

These individual pizzas put a tasty twist on pizza night.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States