Butternut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I roasted the squash and sauteed the onions before pureeing. The soup turned out great - was literally licking the bowl clean. It was quick, easy, and I appreciated that it was healthy and used simple ingredients I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
one of the best soups i have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This is a great "fall" soup! I peeled the squash first, used chicken broth, and cut the onion by half. I used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream to cut some calories. Delicious with a salad and crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
peeling hot squash cubes was annoying & the spices seemed a little heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rowan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
Excellent, even the kids enjoyed the soup and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Very good. Just a little bit lacking in variety of flavor. I like sweet and spicy butternut squash recipes, I added a little brown sugar to this one. I followed advice of other reviewers and used chicken instead of vegetable broth. Mine was from a can and the taste of the chicken was more distinct than I would have preferred. Maybe vegetable, as advised, or homemade chicken broth would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
fantastic! I took the advice of others and cut the onion by half and used chicken stock instead of veg. stock. I used some leftover light cream and supplemented with 2% milk. Awesome! Rich, creamy, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Fabulous! Everyone that I served it to absolutely loved it. My children finished a pot in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer.Harrison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marinwood, California, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This was delicious; however I used chicken broth instead of the vegetable broth. Also I added 1/8 teaspoon each of the nutmeg, cloves & cinnamon & black pepper plus 1/4 teaspoon of salt. Can't wait 'till lunchtime to have more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This is a good, quick and easy recipe. This would be perfect for a midweek dinner, served with salad and bread. It's suprisingly filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States