Butternut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I roasted the squash and sauteed the onions before pureeing. The soup turned out great - was literally licking the bowl clean. It was quick, easy, and I appreciated that it was healthy and used simple ingredients I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2006
one of the best soups i have ever tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This is a great "fall" soup! I peeled the squash first, used chicken broth, and cut the onion by half. I used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream to cut some calories. Delicious with a salad and crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2004
peeling hot squash cubes was annoying & the spices seemed a little heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rowan

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Lafayette, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2004
Excellent, even the kids enjoyed the soup and asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Very good. Just a little bit lacking in variety of flavor. I like sweet and spicy butternut squash recipes, I added a little brown sugar to this one. I followed advice of other reviewers and used chicken instead of vegetable broth. Mine was from a can and the taste of the chicken was more distinct than I would have preferred. Maybe vegetable, as advised, or homemade chicken broth would be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
fantastic! I took the advice of others and cut the onion by half and used chicken stock instead of veg. stock. I used some leftover light cream and supplemented with 2% milk. Awesome! Rich, creamy, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Fabulous! Everyone that I served it to absolutely loved it. My children finished a pot in 2 days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer.Harrison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marinwood, California, USA
Living In: Peachtree City, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This was delicious; however I used chicken broth instead of the vegetable broth. Also I added 1/8 teaspoon each of the nutmeg, cloves & cinnamon & black pepper plus 1/4 teaspoon of salt. Can't wait 'till lunchtime to have more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This is a good, quick and easy recipe. This would be perfect for a midweek dinner, served with salad and bread. It's suprisingly filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States