Butternut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This soup has been a staple in our house for at least 30 years but I make it slightly different than this recipe. I lived in Australia for many years and it is a common soup there. They call it Pumpkin Soup and you can get it at most restaurants and diners. Here;s the recipe I use: 1 large butternut squash peeled and cubed 1 large sweet onion peeled and diced 1 can chicken broth 1 can eveporated milk additional milk to thin it out nutmeg Put the squash, onion and chicken broth in a soup pot and bring to a boil. Simmer until the squash id well done...about 15 minutes. Add evaporated milk and mash with a potato masher or whiz with a hand held stick blender. If it's too thick add some regular milk until it's the consistency you want. Add a dash of nutmeg. Serve with a crusty bread. I just made some 2 nights ago and used a new chicken broth that made it even better than before. It was College Inn Culinary Broth Thai Coconut Curry. I have to get more so I always have some in the cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2003
This was delicious; however I used chicken broth instead of the vegetable broth. Also I added 1/8 teaspoon each of the nutmeg, cloves & cinnamon & black pepper plus 1/4 teaspoon of salt. Can't wait 'till lunchtime to have more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2005
This is a great "fall" soup! I peeled the squash first, used chicken broth, and cut the onion by half. I used evaporated milk instead of heavy cream to cut some calories. Delicious with a salad and crusty bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2001
Tasted great! My only suggestion is to peel the squash BEFORE microwaving it with the butter - that made it really slippery and several times I almost peeled myself instead of the squash!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
I roasted the squash and sauteed the onions before pureeing. The soup turned out great - was literally licking the bowl clean. It was quick, easy, and I appreciated that it was healthy and used simple ingredients I had on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
We really liked this soup. I didn't put in 2 onions, however. I thought that would be a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
fantastic! I took the advice of others and cut the onion by half and used chicken stock instead of veg. stock. I used some leftover light cream and supplemented with 2% milk. Awesome! Rich, creamy, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I peeled and cubed the squash while the onions sauteed in the pan, added them when the onions were golden, then threw in the other ingredients. I omitted the cloves, and went pretty light on the cinnamon and nutmeg. This was some pretty decent soup! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2002
This was terrible. i halved the onion and it was still very overpowered by the onion. it was way to liquidy and the flavor wasnt great. plus it was a pain to cut the skin off the squash and puree it all. not worth it to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
I substituted chix broth for the veg. broth. It was very good even my 11 yr old loved it. Cooking in the microwave was so simple. Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States