Butternut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Perfect creaminess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This is a very different type soup, to me anyway. I used one of the reviewers suggestion's and instead of cream, used cream of cocoanut milk and 1 tsp. curry powder. Found it interesting that this is a common soup in Australia! Well, isn't this why we use allrecipes.com...... to experience other tastes?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I make a version of this all the time, but prefer to buy the pre-squashed squash in the freezer aisle to save a good 20mins! :) It's with the other veggies, but usually in a block format about the size of a book :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Niblet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This soup has been a staple in our house for at least 30 years but I make it slightly different than this recipe. I lived in Australia for many years and it is a common soup there. They call it Pumpkin Soup and you can get it at most restaurants and diners. Here;s the recipe I use: 1 large butternut squash peeled and cubed 1 large sweet onion peeled and diced 1 can chicken broth 1 can eveporated milk additional milk to thin it out nutmeg Put the squash, onion and chicken broth in a soup pot and bring to a boil. Simmer until the squash id well done...about 15 minutes. Add evaporated milk and mash with a potato masher or whiz with a hand held stick blender. If it's too thick add some regular milk until it's the consistency you want. Add a dash of nutmeg. Serve with a crusty bread. I just made some 2 nights ago and used a new chicken broth that made it even better than before. It was College Inn Culinary Broth Thai Coconut Curry. I have to get more so I always have some in the cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Great soup recipe. Sweet tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Very good & easy to make. I also used chicken broth since it was all I had on hand, and it tastes fine. Used fat free 1/2 + 1/2 also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marty
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
Very creamy. I also roasted the squash and sauteed the onions in the butter. Great combo of the spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
Yummy and so easy! I only used 1 small sweet onion. Will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
Great recipe!! I used buttercup squash and 1/2tsp cinnamon & 1/2 tsp nutmeg. I love these spices together so i had to kicked it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by speck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
I peeled and cubed the squash while the onions sauteed in the pan, added them when the onions were golden, then threw in the other ingredients. I omitted the cloves, and went pretty light on the cinnamon and nutmeg. This was some pretty decent soup! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States