Butternut Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I use chicken broth and coconut milk. My favorite soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zernike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I think that peeling the squash after cooking it for 4 minutes must be a typographical error. I peel the squash first. I lighten this by using 2% evaporated milk instead of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Crofton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
This was very good. Loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Very tasty and pretty easy. Removing the skin from the squash was a little messy and not totally easy... but would definitely use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
I made this soup and it was delicious. I used acorn and butternut squash and it was very favorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
YUM! I love butternut!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Very good soup. Although I cooked mine on the stove opposed to microwaving. There were a few things I did different only because I did not have the item called for. I added 2 tablespoons of butter, and I used half a cup of condensed milk instead of half and half. Substituted chicken broth for vegetable broth. I also felt I needed to add extra spices for a little more flavor. All around a good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly H.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This tasted more like french onion soup. It was soooo awful! I followed the recipe, and then tried to double it again (minus the onions) to "fix" it. When that didn't work, I tried straining the onions out. Too much work and not worth the time/money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Used only half of a butternut squash and cut the rest of the items in half as well. This soup was very taste and also easy to make. If you like butternut squash soup this soup is the one for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yams15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
This was my first butternut squash, so I gave this recipe the benefit of the doubt, as I'm not sure if I didn't like the soup or the taste of the butternut squash. I had about a cup of leftover cooked squashed, so I adjusted the recipe for that. I also used onion powder, for my toddler. I only used part of the broth, and then adjusted to suit my tastes in order to prevent it from being to watery. I did the same with the half-n-half I used, after pureeing. This was just a little too sweet for me, which was more than likely the squash itself. This wasn't something I'll make again, but that doesn't mean it isn't a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States