Butternut Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Love this soup! I add just a bit more salt, but other than that small addition, I make it just as the recipe states. My family looks forward to this soup each Fall. I do use fat free half and half. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHGINGRICH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I love this soup. If you can find the bags of precut butternut squash, it makes the prep a breeze. If you're clumsy, it's also safer. I've almost lost fingertips wrestling with whole squash - I'll pay a little extra to keep my fingers! :o) The only change I recommend is doing the allspice a little at a time and tasting - it's easy to overuse strong stuff like allspice. And give the sour cream a try; it sounded weird but tastes really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I loved this recipe! I changed the spices - added cinn, ginger, and a significant amount of nugmeg, which gave a great, warm flavour. I also went overboard with the amount of squash. Freezes surprisingly well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Excellent starter for Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Easy to make, very nice flavor. Peel squash before cutting it up! Next time I make this I think I'll try a different spice, like cardamom. If you use allspice, I recommend starting with half what the recipe states, & adding more to taste. Allspice is not my favorite, & even though it was only a half teaspoon, it was more than I wanted to taste. I will start iwth 1/4 teaspoon of any spice I choose. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
Wow! My teenage sons ate this up completely, and complained that I didn't make enough! They honestly thought it was very good 'potato' soup until I told them! I used double the amount of squash, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
amazingly great! if i could, i would have given this six stars! :) i varied the recipe a little - i only had 1 lb of squash, and i used 2 c organic vegetable broth instead. i didn't put in that much half and half, but i did add yogurt & sour cream upon serving. DE-LICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetneet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
The butternut bisque has become a holiday favorite and soon to be tradition. A tasty way to begin a gourmet dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I had to add a few additional spices, but overall this soup was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Easy to make and just wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States