Butternut Bisque Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Love this soup! I add just a bit more salt, but other than that small addition, I make it just as the recipe states. My family looks forward to this soup each Fall. I do use fat free half and half. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHGINGRICH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
I love this soup. If you can find the bags of precut butternut squash, it makes the prep a breeze. If you're clumsy, it's also safer. I've almost lost fingertips wrestling with whole squash - I'll pay a little extra to keep my fingers! :o) The only change I recommend is doing the allspice a little at a time and tasting - it's easy to overuse strong stuff like allspice. And give the sour cream a try; it sounded weird but tastes really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I loved this recipe! I changed the spices - added cinn, ginger, and a significant amount of nugmeg, which gave a great, warm flavour. I also went overboard with the amount of squash. Freezes surprisingly well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2005
Excellent starter for Thanksgiving dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
Easy to make, very nice flavor. Peel squash before cutting it up! Next time I make this I think I'll try a different spice, like cardamom. If you use allspice, I recommend starting with half what the recipe states, & adding more to taste. Allspice is not my favorite, & even though it was only a half teaspoon, it was more than I wanted to taste. I will start iwth 1/4 teaspoon of any spice I choose. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2004
Wow! My teenage sons ate this up completely, and complained that I didn't make enough! They honestly thought it was very good 'potato' soup until I told them! I used double the amount of squash, but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. A keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
amazingly great! if i could, i would have given this six stars! :) i varied the recipe a little - i only had 1 lb of squash, and i used 2 c organic vegetable broth instead. i didn't put in that much half and half, but i did add yogurt & sour cream upon serving. DE-LICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetneet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2003
The butternut bisque has become a holiday favorite and soon to be tradition. A tasty way to begin a gourmet dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
I had to add a few additional spices, but overall this soup was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2003
Easy to make and just wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States