Buttermilk and Chive Salad Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2002
it's creative
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
Nah...not for me. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DC Girly Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Columbia, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Use scallions (all I had) and was a nice taste on fresh from the garden salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam from L.I.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sound Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Use full-fat mayo, have the buttermilk on hand to add and suppress the mayo flavor, add more spices to taste (garlic powder, some form of onions, dill, lemon pepper), and you have a pleasant ranch dressing. I could not have tolerated the original recipe without more umph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I read the first four (the only four) reviews and found they really didn't give this recipe a fair shake, so here's my take. This is one of those recipes that's SO dependent on "seasoning to taste" and it's so easy to adjust that! If you like more or less of something, just do it and please your own tastebuds! In my case I basically flip-flopped the amounts of buttermilk and mayo and added a little sour cream - nothing drastic, but it worked better for me. I eliminated the sugar, not because it shouldn't be there but because it's my preference. I also added a little garlic powder and some fresh dill - again, not because the recipe necessarily needed it but because I wanted it. This is a good start for what will be a great dressing if you just tweak it to suit you. We loved it with my changes. Make this with YOUR preferences till you get it just right and you'll love it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
I halved this recipe, but otherwise followed it exactly as written. It is a mild flavored dressing, but the flavors come alive a bit more after it sits. I made it an hour or so before eating it and the flavor of the chives was more noticable then. I served it over a salad of homegrown baby greens and cukes with grape tomatoes, bacon, and croutons. I will make this again. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
It's a shame that this recipe has gotten such poor reviews in the past bringing it's average rating to only 3 stars. I'm giving it four because you definitely have to play with it a bit, but if you do it's really good! I had some buttermilk to use up and some fresh chives so I gave it a try. I ended up adding more buttermilk and some dried dill weed. I think if you were to add some sour cream (replace half the mayo with sour cream) and keep it thicker it would make a very nice veggie dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
I used a mix of reduced fat mayonnaise and reduced fat sour cream and I doubled the amount of chives. I decided to omit the sugar only because we don't like sweet dressings. I think this is what it says it is--it's a buttermilk and chive dressing. I mean, that's what it is. If I wanted more spices, I'd have ranch dressing. As is, it was good. Next time, I'll take Pam-3BoysMama's recommendation and make it ahead of time so it has time for the flavors to meld together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
This is a great recipe, but I actually used it as a base. I had some fresh parsley and oregano that I also put in with the chives. I also added some dill, onion powder and garlic powder that I had. My husband likes spicy foods so I also added some crushed red pepper flakes and some Sriracha sauce (or Rooster Sauce as I've heard a few people call it). This added a bit of heat and flavor as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slytheringirl83

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Somersworth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Green Goddess Salad Dressing

It’s the classic green salad dressing starring tarragon and parsley.

Cranberry Mustard Salad Dressing

See how to make a tangy cranberry and mustard-based vinaigrette.

Chef John's Green Goddess Dressing

See how to make creamy, herby Green Goddess dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States