Buttermilk White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2000
A delicous golden loaf of bread. My family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2000
Tastes even better than the buttermilk bread I can buy in the store. Very easy to put together and a really good white bread for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2001
Excellent staple bread! My three year old daughter asks to help make it. Her, my one year old daughter and I eat almost half the loaf once it cools enough to slice. Tastes delicious still warm, fresh out the "oven".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2002
Crust was too hard on medium, so I reduced it to low, and still had to remove it 15 minutes before it was to be finished because it smelled like it was burning. It smelled great, but the crust was still too hard the next day. I let it cool until the outside was no longer steaming, but then put it into my Tupperware breadstorer. It softened up a bit, and was easy to slice the next morning. I wish there was a way for it to not be so crusty, but overall it's a great bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
Bread was very rubbery and didn't have much flavor despite following the recipe exactly. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2003
My kids LOVE this bread! The doughball is always really sticky, but it bakes up just beautifully. I use a light crust setting. I make this for "company bread" because it makes such a pretty (and tasy!)loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
I tried this recipe twice. I don't know what it is, but I ended up both times with a loaf that was about a third the size it should be, and far too moist and dense. Disappointing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Mount Dora, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2009
This is a great basic white bread. My husband and I have stopped buying store bread and just use this instead. A great hint for measuring honey is to just coat your measuring spoon with vegetable oil. The honey will pour right out without sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I will never buy white bread from the supermarket again. Thank you Anita! This simple recipe produces a perfect loaf everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Easy to mix up. Rose like it was supposed to. Baked perfectly. Tasted great. What more could you ask for? No disappointments, no criticisms. I was looking for a simple and versatile basic white bread and this was just what I was after. I reduced the honey to 2 T. to ensure against overrising and used butter instead of margarine. Nicely flavored and not too moist as some bread machine breads can be. Just a darn good, reliable recipe, one I'll be going back to often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States