Buttermilk White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Serves 8 scaled down from 12. The recipe is a very good starting point. My husband likes a bread with an egg in it. So I put and egg in. To compensate I added another 1/2 C flour and increased the yeast to 1 1/2 t. I also use agave syrup in place of the honey(just happens to be my preference). The last thing I did was use EVOO in place of margarine and increase the amount to 2 T.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rockford, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Hannaford, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
My family LOVES this recipe. Anytime I make bread, they ask me to make this kind. I don't make it in a bread machine, I make it by hand instead and it works perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
I love it and everyone else did to. Not sweet at all, great taste. I personally use only a 1/2 tsp. of salt. Very easy to make by hand and oven bake. #1. mix all ingredients in a large bowl well (use blender with dough hooks, so much easier). * Make into a ball. #2. Rub just enough oil to cover the ball. Put in warm place and wait up to an hour, letting it double in size.#3. Put dough into a 5X7 bread pan.#4. Let it rise again, about an hour or to what you want.#5. Last 15 mins. of rising preheat oven to 350 to 375.#6. Bake for 30 - 35 mins.#7. Top with butter if you want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
The best bread recipe I have tried! I have tried quite a few and this one was the best. The crust was perfect, the slices are great for sandwiches not to airy not to dense. Amazing! Will defiantly bake up some more of this bread. Oh and I substituted corn surup for the honey since I didn't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Excellent texture and flavor on first attempt using an older model bread machine that I inherited without a recipe booklet. Used salted butter instead of margarine but did not adjust amount of salt called for in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
Fantastic fluffy white bread with a nice crust! This is my new staple white bread. I found the crust a little dark so I reduced the crust setting to light instead of medium like the recipe calls for, also used the breadmaker setting for 3 hours rather than 3hr 30min. Still has to be wrapped or bagged when done to soften the crust. You'll love this bread, just adjust the recipe to your liking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
I LOVE this recipe. I made changes only because of what I had on hand: I substituted half the white flour with whole wheat flour, and only used half the honey. The texture is dense but not too much, the flavor is delicious and the crust is perfect for slicing as sandwhich bread. Also, I only cook my bread in the machine until the dough cycle, at which point I pull it out, punch it down and shape it into my loaf pan, baking it on 350 degrees for 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Wonderful bread!! The only changes I made was to use real buttermilk(1%)and used half salt(R) with no salt instead of salt.Thanks for a great recipe Anita
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lerie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Easy to mix up. Rose like it was supposed to. Baked perfectly. Tasted great. What more could you ask for? No disappointments, no criticisms. I was looking for a simple and versatile basic white bread and this was just what I was after. I reduced the honey to 2 T. to ensure against overrising and used butter instead of margarine. Nicely flavored and not too moist as some bread machine breads can be. Just a darn good, reliable recipe, one I'll be going back to often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
I will never buy white bread from the supermarket again. Thank you Anita! This simple recipe produces a perfect loaf everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Post Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Traditional White Bread

See how to make traditional sandwich bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States