Buttermilk Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
great hit with my family, made it the other day making it again today!..although I only got one slice out of the last loaf it was gone so fast lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOW218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This bread came out very nice. Instead of using bread machine I mixed all the ingredients together in a stand mixer, let the dough rise and then baked in the oven at 350 in a loaf pan. I used white wheat flour so came out very light colored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Great recipe ! I drink buttermilk but didn't have any on hand, so I added one tbsp white vinegar to the milk - instant buttermilk ! Also used honey instead of sugar. First time using my Breadman - my husband and daughter really enjoyed it. Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2008
I didn't use a bread mixer for this. I wanted a wheat bread recipe with buttermilk and this was great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauraloves2run

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA
Photo by Michigan Mommy
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This bread is wonderful! I put the ingredients in the bread machine set to dough cycle, after it finished I put the bread into a 9 by 5 load pan, let rise for 30 minutes, and then baked in the oven (350 degrees) for 27 minutes, I had the timer set at 30 but pulled it out a few minutes early, it probably could have baked the entire 30 minutes and turned out fine. It almost has a sourdough taste to it but it is very soft and light. I love it and so does the family! Can't wait to make some sandwiches with it. Just for clarification I used reduced-fat cultured buttermilk that comes in a little jug like regular milk. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This bread was excellent, and has now replaced my old favorite white bread recipe. I use the powdered buttermilk instead of fresh, and it comes out soft and delicious. Next time I'm going to try adding a little honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This has become one of my very favorite bread recipes. My family and friends can't seem to get enough of it. Sometimes I substitute 1 package of Lipton Onion Soup mix for the salt to make a great-tasting onion bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim McConnell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Wow, this bread is amazing! I was short of buttermilk, and replaced 1/2 cup of buttermilk with skim milk, and it was fantastic. Even my kids asked for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELGOLLUB

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
Absolutely my go-to recipe for the older model (upright) breadmaker my cousin picked up at a garage sale. The recipe fills the pan perfectly, smells divine while baking, and when I have buttermilk on hand I always make sure to bake a loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
Excellent!! This bread was gobbled up and we are on our second loaf! It was a great toasting bread that had a great taste and texture. Thanks for posting the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States