Buttermilk Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very good and one of the easiest bread recipes I've come by. One negative is the yeast amount should be increased to 2 1/2 teaspoons. I followed the recipe the first time and it took way too long to rise. I did NOT use a bread machine. If making by hand, just throw all the ingredients into one bowl and mix. No need to proof the yeast, it will still rise (make sure yeast is fresh). I've kneaded this both by hand and using a dough hook for a good 5 min. This dough comes together well and is not sticky, so kneading by hand is a cinch. Instead of using extra flour when kneading, which can toughen and dry the finished product, spray your hands with PAM or oil and knead that way. No sticking and no extra flour needed. I let this rise in a warm oven until doubled, then rise a 2nd time in a (9x5) loaf pan. Baked at 350 for 20 min. Brush with butter when it comes out and cover loosely with foil to soften the outer crust. Great crumb and texture. I will make again. TIP - I use 2 cups white flour and the rest wheat flour. As a general rule, I always add one tablespoon powdered gluten for every cup of wheat flour I use in any recipe. This keeps the bread nice and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
147 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This bread came out very nice. Instead of using bread machine I mixed all the ingredients together in a stand mixer, let the dough rise and then baked in the oven at 350 in a loaf pan. I used white wheat flour so came out very light colored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michigan Mommy
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This bread is wonderful! I put the ingredients in the bread machine set to dough cycle, after it finished I put the bread into a 9 by 5 load pan, let rise for 30 minutes, and then baked in the oven (350 degrees) for 27 minutes, I had the timer set at 30 but pulled it out a few minutes early, it probably could have baked the entire 30 minutes and turned out fine. It almost has a sourdough taste to it but it is very soft and light. I love it and so does the family! Can't wait to make some sandwiches with it. Just for clarification I used reduced-fat cultured buttermilk that comes in a little jug like regular milk. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
If I didn't have a favorite Italian bread recipe I generally use this recipe could easily become a staple. I thought it was short on salt and yeast so I increased both without straying from the recipe too much - 1 tsp. salt and two tsp. yeast. I kept the measurements of all else the same but used bread flour for the all-purpose flour by accident (it's called making assumptions and not reading the recipe carefully - again). In any case, this is all you'd want in a basic, everyday bread. It rose, baked and sliced nicely and has great flavor (I DO think it needed that extra salt). I'm not a big fan of whole wheat bread, much preferring white bread, so this was perfect for me with its mere 1/3 cup of whole wheat flour. So if you're thinking this is a hearty whole wheat bread, choose a different recipe - or use this one, with half whole wheat flour and half all-purpose (or bread flour). No matter how you slice it (ha!) this is a great bread, one of the better ones I've tried from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This has become one of my very favorite bread recipes. My family and friends can't seem to get enough of it. Sometimes I substitute 1 package of Lipton Onion Soup mix for the salt to make a great-tasting onion bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim McConnell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Great recipe ! I drink buttermilk but didn't have any on hand, so I added one tbsp white vinegar to the milk - instant buttermilk ! Also used honey instead of sugar. First time using my Breadman - my husband and daughter really enjoyed it. Thank you !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This bread was awesome! I added a hand full of cheese to the bread machine. My boys ate the whole loaf. Delicious and yummy, thanks for the post (we ate this with the Roast Lemon Herb chicken recipe on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This made a beautiful, light-textured, perfectly shaped loaf of bread. I have a 25 lb. bag of bread flour, so I subbed that in place of the all-purpose flour. Another reviewer recommended 2 1/2 tsp of yeast which I followed with excellent results. I will make this again when I have extra buttermilk, however, my personal preference would be that this recipe needs a little more salt. I usually make breads with more whole wheat flour, but I think the ratio of white/wheat in this recipe makes for a really nice light texture. I made this using the bread maker dough setting, then I rolled it out, let it rise in a regular loaf pan, and baked it at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I don't usually have buttermilk in the house, so a lady I work with told me to buy the powdered buttermilk. I used(with the correct amount of water that the buttermilk powder called for) it and it seemed to work fine. Overall,I wasnt really impressed with this recipe, considering that it got 4 stars. Maybe I should have used real buttermilk. I also am never really happy with anything I make with my breadmaker. So who knows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This bread is light and delicious. I increased the yeast to one full package, and used more wheat flour and less bread flour. I used powdered buttermilk, and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HorologyGirl

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States