Buttermilk Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Michigan Mommy
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This bread is wonderful! I put the ingredients in the bread machine set to dough cycle, after it finished I put the bread into a 9 by 5 load pan, let rise for 30 minutes, and then baked in the oven (350 degrees) for 27 minutes, I had the timer set at 30 but pulled it out a few minutes early, it probably could have baked the entire 30 minutes and turned out fine. It almost has a sourdough taste to it but it is very soft and light. I love it and so does the family! Can't wait to make some sandwiches with it. Just for clarification I used reduced-fat cultured buttermilk that comes in a little jug like regular milk. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
great hit with my family, made it the other day making it again today!..although I only got one slice out of the last loaf it was gone so fast lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEOW218

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Summerfield, Prince Edward Island, Canada
Living In: Edson, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
This bread came out very nice. Instead of using bread machine I mixed all the ingredients together in a stand mixer, let the dough rise and then baked in the oven at 350 in a loaf pan. I used white wheat flour so came out very light colored.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This has become one of my very favorite bread recipes. My family and friends can't seem to get enough of it. Sometimes I substitute 1 package of Lipton Onion Soup mix for the salt to make a great-tasting onion bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim McConnell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
I also used the powdered buttermilk as described in a previous review and the loaf turned out beautiful but it didn't have a lot of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2007
We loved this bread! The buttermilk gave it a nice rich flavor. I added 3 Tbsp of honey. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2006
This bread was awesome! I added a hand full of cheese to the bread machine. My boys ate the whole loaf. Delicious and yummy, thanks for the post (we ate this with the Roast Lemon Herb chicken recipe on this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
I don't usually have buttermilk in the house, so a lady I work with told me to buy the powdered buttermilk. I used(with the correct amount of water that the buttermilk powder called for) it and it seemed to work fine. Overall,I wasnt really impressed with this recipe, considering that it got 4 stars. Maybe I should have used real buttermilk. I also am never really happy with anything I make with my breadmaker. So who knows!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Ixonia, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2006
This was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2005
This was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roan Mountain, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States