Buttermilk Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
This made a beautiful, light-textured, perfectly shaped loaf of bread. I have a 25 lb. bag of bread flour, so I subbed that in place of the all-purpose flour. Another reviewer recommended 2 1/2 tsp of yeast which I followed with excellent results. I will make this again when I have extra buttermilk, however, my personal preference would be that this recipe needs a little more salt. I usually make breads with more whole wheat flour, but I think the ratio of white/wheat in this recipe makes for a really nice light texture. I made this using the bread maker dough setting, then I rolled it out, let it rise in a regular loaf pan, and baked it at 350 degrees for about 25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
My first attempt at bread baking. It was good but didn't look quite as nice as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2010
Very nice bread. Good, full flavor from the milk. I used sour milk instead of buttermilk and it worked well enough. I don't think this bread needs toasted or buttered or anything--the flavor is wonderful all on it's own. But it does work well as toast--had some with my omelet this morning. I did the dough in the breadmaker and baked at 375 for about an hour. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2010
Thank you so much for posting this recipe! It's amazing. I've made this bread exactly as written about 6 times now (in my bread maker). It comes out perfect everytime. I love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy's Baking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
I make this bread at least twice a week. I do not have a bread machine so everything is done the good old fashioned way-by hand. I do warm up the buttermilk a little to help activate the yeast. Other than that everything goes in the bowl and the result is a fast rising dough. I bake it at 350 and it comes out perfect every time. Family favorite for toast, sandwiches or just plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I use 1 1/3 c wheat flour and 2 c white bread flour. Turns out amazing every time - soft with nice crust - and lasts much longer than the recipes from the bread machine manual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Very good simple recipe for my bread machine. Loved the bread hot. Was still really good reheated or toasted. Not a big fan of the bread cold, but it did make good grilled sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Enjoyable to make and it has a wonderful taste and texture. I don't have a bread machine, so I put it in the oven at 350 until the knife came out clean. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by capecodcook79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnstable, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Excellent bread. Loved the tang that the buttermilk gave it. I used 2 cups white flour and the rest whole wheat. I used the bread machine to make the dough, then put it in a loaf pan and baked for about 25 minutes @ 350º. The second loaf I made, I let it rise a second time, punched it down then put it in the loaf pan. I think it came out a little better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mom2hhh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
I don't have a bread machine, but it turns out great when I make it by hand. The first time I made it, I stuck to the recipe, and though I liked it, I thought it was a bit bland. So because of that I make the following changes: 2 T butter, 2 T honey (in addition to the sugar), 1 tsp salt, and 1 cup whole wheat flour (the rest white). I think these changes made it tastier. I've also made them into rolls (12), and we liked those even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA
Living In: Columbus, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States