Buttermilk Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Oh my, very good bread! Soft and fresh tasting. Makes great toast. I did adjust the yeast to 1 Tbsp. and the salt to 1 1/2 tsp. Also, used bread flour. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I love this bread recipe! The texture is so light and fluffy! I substituted bread flour for the all-purpose flour and also used 2 t. yeast and 1 t. salt as recommended by another reviewer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mitchell, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Excellent texture -- soft and moist. Slices beautifully. Mixed in bread machine, baked at 350 for 25 minutes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
A delicious, soft bread. I had buttermilk to use up, and someone on the Recipe Buzz suggested this recipe. So glad they did! I used 1 1/2 teaspoons Bread Machine Yeast and white whole wheat flour and both worked out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Photo by Virginia Griffin Revoir
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I did make adjustments and it came out beautiful. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Virginia Griffin Revoir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I love this bread! I love the tangy flavor from the buttermilk. I used bread flour instead of all purpose and it turned out soft and fluffy. I also used 1 tsp salt and 2 tsp yeast. Such a nice loaf and a great way to use up my buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
Taste was good and texture fine. Had to add more flour because it was very sticky with amount given.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2010
This bread is light and delicious. I increased the yeast to one full package, and used more wheat flour and less bread flour. I used powdered buttermilk, and it came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina Edmonds Rodgers

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
For years I have searched for a recipe that compares to my Nana's dinner rolls. When she passed away, she took her recipe with her as she never measured ingredients nor wrote anything down. I made your dough in my bread machine then divided it to make pan rolls. Once I removed them from the over, I smeared butter on the tops like Nana used to do. Delicious! Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Very tasty. I didn't use my bread machine, I used my KA mixer instead but I think I should have let it work a little longer on the bread hook as it was kind of dense. After I took it out of the oven I spread honey on the top. I think I've finally found a good copy of the bread one of our favorite restaurants on Chincoteague Island makes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States