Buttermilk Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2014
This bread was so good! I had forgotten to check and see if the dough was too wet in the bread machine and it wouldn't rise properly, so I took the dough out when the bake cycle was just going to start and placed it in a bowl with a little extra flour then placing it in a buttered bread pan and letting it rise for about 20 min. in a 175 degree oven loosely tented with foil. When risen I lightly brushed the top with melted butter and baked at 350 until browned and done. In the dough itself the only changes I made was using 1/4 cup honey and only 1 rounded tsp. of sugar, about 1/4 cup less all purpose flour and using wheat flour in its place, and using melted margarine instead of butter because that's all I had. The bread was very moist and flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Delicious! I mixed it in the breadmaker and then formed it into a loaf and baked it on my baking stone. This is a very good bread. I loved the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bmatheson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shelley, Idaho, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
Wow!! This bread is delicious. Tasted great. I will make this once a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This is a great recipe, easy and deliscious. I did substitute 2 Cups all-purpose flour and 1 and 1/3 cups whole wheat flour instead of the measurements provided. I had to add another tablespoon of flour while the dough was mixing as it was a littlel wet. It didn't seem to matter that the buttermilk was cold. (I usually place room temperature ingredients in the bread machine, which may be the trouble people have when their bread turns out like a brick!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mohrsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
Wow, this bread is great! I used a package of yeast and made the dough in my bread machine. When the dough was done, I took it out, punched it down and put it in a buttered bread plan covered with saran wrap. I let it proof in a cold oven with a warm bowl of water sitting on the rack under the bread, for 40 minutes. When it was done, I took it out, removed the saran wrap and water from the oven, preheated oven to 350 degrees and brushed the top of the bread with an egg/water mixture then baked for 30 minutes. This is one of the best breads that I've made. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Couldn't be easier to make and oh soooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROOKIE COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Big Stone Gap, Virginia, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
This recipe works really well for me. I use my Kitchenaid mixer to make the dough, using slightly less flour than called for and adding until I have the correct mixture. I also use the buttermilk from our cow, so it is not sour yet. I add a splash of vinegar to the liquid. Use it regularly and substitute different flours in addition to the whole wheat( buckwheat, sunflower seeds, semolina....whatever is handy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camprunfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Easy to make and the whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
This is a great bread. I had done a couple of adjustments. Instead of butter I used vegetable oil. I also used only 1 1/2 cups white and increased the whole wheat by 1 1/2 cups (also used the 1/3 cup recommended in the recipe. Set the bread maker to whole wheat setting. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Fabulous bread! I followed the recipe exactly except used bread flour instead of all-purpose. The bread was light and fluffy and soft. Our family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States