Buttermilk Syrup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kristelle Bentley
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
I just made this and my boyfriend is so convinced it's the best syrup he's ever had! I must say I think I agree!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by California TLC
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
Use a Big saucepan, as the volume expands quite a bit when it begins to boil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by California TLC

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Loved this recipe...if you cook the full seven minutes on full boil then you will end up with caramel, just turn the boil to a light boil for seven minutes, or better yet use a candy thermometer and cook to 220 degrees and you will not have a problem with it turning to caramel. Only ONE BIG PROBLEM if you cook this syrup you will never go back..or pancakes will always be lacking if you ever try to have them without this syrup"! I speak from experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I halved the recipe since it's just my husband and I. He really loved it. I used buttermilk powder and water for the buttermilk. And I was SURE before I started this that I had corn syrup. I couldn't find that bottle anywhere. So I used real maple syrup. It got really thick, but that was probably because I used a lot of buttermilk powder. It tasted good with it, but made it too thick. When it first came off the stove it was the perfect thickness. Then as it cooled, I could have made little square caramels. In fact, While I was waiting for my pancakes, I kept eating it like candy. And it tasted magical on pumpkin pancakes. UPDATE: With the extra sauce (which is thick as peanut butter) I heated in microwave and spread on graham crackers. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Iblafin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Very easy and good. If you don't have buttermilk, you can substitute milk + vinegar. But, it's a bit better with buttermilk. Use a large pan because it will foam up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
love this syrup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Millie Barrett

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2014
Our family loves this syrup on all things mentioned! This Syrup is also AMAZING on what we, in the west, call scones AKA frybread. Try buttermilk Syrup on these! Mix:1 C. warmed milk, 1c. warm water, 1Tbs yeast, 3Tbs sugar and let rest/proof 3-5 minutes. Add: 1/4c. melted, cooled, butter, 1T Salt and 5-6 cups flour. Roll the dough to a thin 1/2 inch thickness on a floured surface, and allow to rise a few minutes while heating a pan of oil to 325* (never leave oil unattended!) cut dough from edges into crescents/pieces with the edge of a small 4-5 inch bowl. fry in oil on both sides until golden. Serve with Buttermilk Syrup. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
This is great on pumpkin pancakes. We also like to slice apples, pears and bananas and dip them into it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I've made this twice now. First time it was way too sweet, second time I reduced the sugar by half and it was perfect. I will no longer buy syrup. This is so yummy and my family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
Awesome syrup! I made it to go over bread pudding and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 314) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Biscuits

See how to make beautiful, flaky-but-tender buttermilk biscuits.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Costas French Market Doughnuts (Beignets)

See how to make pillowy beignets like they serve at Café du Monde.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States