Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I made these for my sister and her family. I used the food prossessor to cut the butter in. I used a little less than a teaspoon of salt. I needed more buttermilk. Our personal preference was not to put cream and sugar on the top. Everybody loved them. We made them 3 times in one week! We did do our own thing with the berries and made whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This is THE BEST shortcake recipe I've ever had! I was impressed with the light, fluffy texture which is amazing because I tend to like the dense shortcakes. This simply melts in your mouth. I baked them on the rack above middle to keep the bottoms of the shortcakes from browning too much. I also liked measuring out the dough as the 1/3c seems to be a perfect portion. I ended up having to add more buttermilk, but that is probably due to climate. I also just brushed with buttermilk since I already had it out. As for the berries, I did blackberry-strawberry since these needed to be eaten soon. I also added some opened champagne to the berries and let sit overnight. It helped give more juice and and incredible flavor. THANKS for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
lovely recipe. My personal preference is cut out biscuits so I kneaded more flour into them the second time I made them and they turned out perfect. They were also great as drop biscuits, I just prefer the cut outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Very good. A little salty because I used salted butter, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
These were delicious! I just used the biscuit recipe though. I don't like syrupy strawberries, so I just used plain sliced fresh strawberries instead. Also, I served this with whipped cream (obviously, without the syrup it would have been too dry otherwise!). The biscuit part was very good though. I didn't bother with the cream/sugar on top of the biscuits, but I'm sure it would have been even better with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReadMyLips26
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Wonderful!! I did not have buttermilk on hand so I substituted. I did 3 TBS vinegar with milk added to equal 1 cup, let sit 10 min. and voila!, buttermilk.(I use this sub. for anytime I have no buttermilk on hand) They came out so tasty, my in-laws loved them after dinner. I did not alter the ingredients but made my own whipped cream to top with. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Absolutely delicious! My husband doesn't like desserts that are too sweet, so I thought this might be a good option. I made it without brushing the tops of the biscuits before baking, and it turned out great! I also only made 1/4 of the recipe, because I didn't need 12 biscuits for just the 2 of us. The texture was perfect!! The inside was soft, and the outside had a delicious crunch to it. I paired it with frozen mixed berries, because I didn't want to make a trip to town for fresh strawberries. The berries in combination with that crunch were just amazing. Ask my husand... he listended to me rave about it the entire time we were eating. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by S. Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Really great recipe! The ingredient substitutions I made were health conscious ones such as using evaporated cane juice instead of white sugar, organic butter, sea salt, and whole wheat pastry flour. Baking for only 13 minutes was perfect, and freezing and then grating the butter as was suggested by another reviewer worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eat2live

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States