Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Nancy from WA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Looking to use up some strawberries and buttermilk, I came upon this recipe. I halved it since it was just the 3 of us. I didn't have the heavy cream and turbinado sugar for the topping. I just sprinkled regular white sugar. I ended up with 4 shortcakes. I baked for about 18 minutes and checked it. It was still a doughy when I lightly squished it. I baked it another 5 minutes more, watching it every 2 minutes. It was a little bit more crunchy than I wanted it when it was fully cooked. Hoping the strawberry juices would soak into the shortbread to make it less crunchy but didn't have enough juices. After it was all dressed up, it was pretty good. Better than the Bisquick that I normally make. Would make again, except to make it the shortcake flatter so it cooks more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
this is now my favorite shortcake recipe. if you don't have heavy cream use half and half or whipping cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
The biscuit is straightforward, easy to make, and well-liked. Not a home run in terms of how unique but a solid hit that gets you all the way to second-base! Tweaking the filling gets you the home run. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Followed recipe, no changes other than the turbinado sugar. I didn't have it on hand and just used plain granulated, it worked perfectly. We are huge fans of Cheescake Factory's strawberry shortcake, this is as close as you can get! It's amazing, we've made it like 5 times since we first made it 4 months ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Tender, moist and yummy! A nice surprise to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This was my first attempt at shortcake and these turned out perfect! My family raved about how delicious they were. I made a few changes: didn't have buttermilk so mixed whole milk with 2TBS of vinegar and let it sour for a few mins. I added a tsp of vanilla extract (this is what really made them for me), and added about one extra tablespoon of sugar. They were so good that I made them the next day and added chocolate chips to them. Mmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Made this for our 4th of July BBQ. It was a HUGE hit! I didn't have unsalted butter, so I used regular butter and cut the salt in half and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Very tasty shortcake, didn't have any problems except that the bottoms of the biscuits were overdone but that might just be my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is a simple, delicious recipe. So tender that one slid off the baking sheet coming out of the oven and broke apart on hitting the oven floor and began scorching immediately! Literally melt in your mouth. Special treat for my newly retired husband tonight. YUM...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States