Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2015
Love this recipe! Can't believe how easy and delicious these are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Thrams Kampf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2015
Made 1/2 of the recipe to yield 6 shortcakes for the 2 of us. I, too, have always used the Betty Crocker cookbook recipe. I'm glad I found this one because I think it's just a bit better overall. I didn't have turbinado sugar, so I used regular sugar. Made my strawberries a day before so there would be a lot of juice. Summer with every bite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2015
Tender and delicious! Grated frozen butter to create the flaky texture, worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpioneermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jabberjawsaeh
Reviewed: May 31, 2015
This seriously is the BEST strawberry shortcake recipe that we have ever tried! My family raved and raved- and we'd tried many, many of these over the years. Use hand made whipped cream for a stellar finish! :) Thank you so much for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
I made a few changes your doctor would frown on to create a more rich, moist, and slightly sweeter shortcake you'll love with or without a topping. Until today, my family and I thought the 1953 Better Homes & Gardens recipe (modified my way, of course) was best. To avoid turning into my grandmother, ("change is bad!"), I tried this one today. My old shortcake recipe seems like hardtack now so I threw it in the recycle bin. Changes made for this: reduced baking soda to 3 teaspoons and didn't add salt because I used salted butter. While stirring in buttermilk, I added two eggs from my own chickens (even if you drive 100's of miles to buy farm eggs, you'll thank me), increased butter and sugar to 1 cup, and added 2 tsps. vanilla. This is hands-down the best shortcake recipe (with or without adapting), which further supports my conviction that allrecipes is the only place to go for recipes. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2015
I had buttermilk leftover from a cake I made a week ago and since I had strawberries and blueberries I needed to use, I found this recipe. ( I did an Allrecipes search using the words "buttermilk" and "flour"). I usually make biscuits or scones for my strawberry shortcake but THIS recipe is amazing! All that butter and buttermilk made the most flavorful, moist and delicious sweet biscuits I've ever tasted. I just made the biscuit recipe as stated, left off the topping and didn't add sugar to the berries. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2015
We love this recipe, but because we don't trust the temp on our oven, we baked at 350 degrees for 15 minutes and they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAD6363
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2015
Wonderful! THIS IS WHAT SHORTCAKE IS SUPPOSED TO LOOK AND TASTE LIKE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clovis, California, USA
Living In: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2015
Very tender and not too sweet. I really liked these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Falls, Iowa, USA
Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nancy from WA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2015
Looking to use up some strawberries and buttermilk, I came upon this recipe. I halved it since it was just the 3 of us. I didn't have the heavy cream and turbinado sugar for the topping. I just sprinkled regular white sugar. I ended up with 4 shortcakes. I baked for about 18 minutes and checked it. It was still a doughy when I lightly squished it. I baked it another 5 minutes more, watching it every 2 minutes. It was a little bit more crunchy than I wanted it when it was fully cooked. Hoping the strawberry juices would soak into the shortbread to make it less crunchy but didn't have enough juices. After it was all dressed up, it was pretty good. Better than the Bisquick that I normally make. Would make again, except to make it the shortcake flatter so it cooks more evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Chef John's Classic Strawberry Shortcake

Discover Chef John's family recipe for this iconic summer classic.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States