Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
The biscuit is straightforward, easy to make, and well-liked. Not a home run in terms of how unique but a solid hit that gets you all the way to second-base! Tweaking the filling gets you the home run. ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Followed recipe, no changes other than the turbinado sugar. I didn't have it on hand and just used plain granulated, it worked perfectly. We are huge fans of Cheescake Factory's strawberry shortcake, this is as close as you can get! It's amazing, we've made it like 5 times since we first made it 4 months ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2014
Tender, moist and yummy! A nice surprise to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2014
This was my first attempt at shortcake and these turned out perfect! My family raved about how delicious they were. I made a few changes: didn't have buttermilk so mixed whole milk with 2TBS of vinegar and let it sour for a few mins. I added a tsp of vanilla extract (this is what really made them for me), and added about one extra tablespoon of sugar. They were so good that I made them the next day and added chocolate chips to them. Mmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
This was fantastic! I followed the recipe exactly, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Made this for our 4th of July BBQ. It was a HUGE hit! I didn't have unsalted butter, so I used regular butter and cut the salt in half and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Very tasty shortcake, didn't have any problems except that the bottoms of the biscuits were overdone but that might just be my oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
This is a simple, delicious recipe. So tender that one slid off the baking sheet coming out of the oven and broke apart on hitting the oven floor and began scorching immediately! Literally melt in your mouth. Special treat for my newly retired husband tonight. YUM...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I was out of Bisquick, so I looked up this highly rated shortcake. It has a great tender texture because of the butter and buttermilk. One reviewer said to leave out the salt if you use salted butter and I did. I wouldn't leave it out next time-- I think it needed it. Nevertheless, it was yummy! I rolled the dough out into a square shape, cut the dough into equal sized pieces and placed them close together on the baking sheet-- a lot like you would for scones. It baked up beautifully in 14 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
Biscuits came out golden brown in 15 minutes. Wonderful recipe, thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States