Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
What a simple, easy, and delicious dessert! I had some buttermilk I had to use up and this was just perfect. For the shortcakes, I froze the butter and grated it which is much easier. After dropping these onto a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and did an egg wash (one egg well beaten with 1 Tbsp. of water) and then topped it off with the turbinado sugar which provided a nice little crunch. These baked up beautifully and tasted wonderful. I served them with "Easy Whipped Cream" from this site. This recipe is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Shearone
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
Great simple, easy and delicious recipe. I sliced some of the strawberries ahead of time in order for the juice to form. The only ingredient change I made was to sprinkle with light brown sugar instead of turbinado. A word of caution, watch the baking time. While the recipe does not require whipped cream, I did add it on the side. Going in my favorite recipe file. Thanks Emmie4life for sharing your recipe here on Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful
Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
We really enjoyed this. Cut the recipe in half for 6 servings and it worked out great. Tender, moist shortcakes with a pleasant crunch from the sanding sugar (did not have turbinado sugar). I will watch the baking time a little closer next time. Delicious at 15 minutes but I will pull them at 13 - 14 min when we have these again. I would also suggest making these close to serving time. The leftovers were not nearly as tender the next day. I am always looking for super fast, easy recipes that taste and present like you have spent more time preparing and this is a great example. Looking forward to trying all types of fresh fruit this spring and summer with this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
Fantastic! These are light, wonderful shortcake biscuits. The only changes I made to the recipe was to decrease the baking powder to 3 teaspoons and I used white sugar on top of the biscuits because I did not have turbinado sugar. Just ate one with my strawberries and these are delicious! A must keep recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
Amazing. This was a perfect way to end a good meal. Make sure you use unsalted butter or omit the salt. Also if you don't have buttermilk add 1 teaspoon of vinegar to the milk. Let stand for 5 minutes before using. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
very nice biscuit, shortcake recipe. I will not have enough strawberries for the number of biscuits (my own fault) so I added some homemade applesauce to the strawberries to stretch them out a little. No need for extra sugar this way and it is very tasty. I used a large ice cream scoop to scoop these into a mega muffin tin, the butter melted down the sides, collecting in the bottom, causing the whole outside to have a crunchy texture. Very good. I made a second batch subbing 1/2 sour cream, 1/2 plain yogurt for the buttermilk and added some sharp cheese. New Fav biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: May 7, 2012
This makes a terrific not so sweet biscuit for the sweet strawberries and the cream. Delicious! I like pound cake but prefer this old fashion cake like biscuit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I've always had strawberry shortcake made with pound cake, sponge cake or angel food cake - never with this sweet biscuit/scone like "cake." In addition to the turbinado sugar I gave them a good sprinkle of cinnamon sugar. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: May 25, 2012
Recipe Group Selection: 19, May '12 ~ Oh my gosh, is this shortcake ever delicious! I usually make a shortcake similar to this, but not with the buttermilk. Really liked the texture the buttermilk added. I cut the recipe down to 3 shortcakes because I did not want leftovers. I used the heavy cream and course sugar crystals on top as I'm not sure what turbinado sugar is. It baked up nicely and was a soft and fluffy on the inside and golden brown and crunchy on the outside. I will make shortcake this way from now on as I usually always have buttermilk on hand. Really enjoyed this week's Recipe Group pick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by AuntE
Reviewed: May 24, 2012
Recipe Group 5/19/12. The buttermilk gave a normal biscuit some moistness. And added a little more flavor. The turbinado sugar was a great bonus. I enjoyed those bites. Shortcake was done at 15 min to a light brown. I stored shortcake in plastic baggie and they stayed moist and tasted better the 2nd day. Made single dishes one day with chocolate sauce on bottom (yum)and a small platter for 4 the next. Great classic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States