Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
So delicious!! I went strawberry picking yesterday and was looking for a good shortcake recipe. My husband and I agreed that this is a keeper. Biscuit is shortbread-like, moist, and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I've always had strawberry shortcake made with pound cake, sponge cake or angel food cake - never with this sweet biscuit/scone like "cake." In addition to the turbinado sugar I gave them a good sprinkle of cinnamon sugar. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I've had issues making shortcakes in the past. These are so easy and tasty, my husband likes them as just a biscuit. Not too sweet and not dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn Rettger Hukill

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mantua, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lacombe, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Very good recipe! My brother-in-law showed up this afternoon for dinner carrying a full flat of strawberries! I popped on AllRecipes.com and chose this recipe! Super easy, quick and most yummy! Thanks for posting this recipe. :) Oh, and I love the one review that talks about freezing the butter and then grating it into the flour mixture. GREAT TIP!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUSIECUEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Big Bear Lake, California, USA
Living In: Los Osos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
I liked it but it wasn't exactly what I was looking for. I love the bisquick shortcake but I am trying to get away from prepared foods and this one sounded like it might come close. It does have good flavor just a different texture than what I was hoping for but that just might be it coming from scratch. This is my shortcake recipe until I find something I like better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Great recipe. I added about 1/4 cup more buttermilk and used 1/2 & 1/2 instead of heavy cream and regular white sugar instead of turb sugar. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
Absolutely fantastic! You must try this recipe, it was super quick. My batter turned out a bit dry, so I used 1 1/2 cups buttermilk. I used my food processor to cut in the butter and used frozen strawberries. Got rave reviews at the neighborhood potluck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marla Ann

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Whipped this up tonight and loved it! I didn't have any turbinado sugar or heavy whipping cream but regular sugar and milk worked great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jensirmans

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I made only the biscuits as per the recipe directions. I halved the recipe and packed the batter into a 1/3 cup measure. It made 6 biscuits. This was exactly what I was looking for. My family had always eaten strawberries with angel food cake but I wanted to try the shortcake. I baked for 15 minutes and it was just a bit too long as they browned a little dark on the bottom and were a little dry. I served with cut strawberries mixed with blueberries and strawberry whipped cream. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
It was really good. Next time I'll cut the baking powder back to 2 Tsp. I could taste it a little. Other than that, this is my new favorite recipe for strawberry shortcake! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States