Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Very good. A little salty because I used salted butter, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
These were delicious! I just used the biscuit recipe though. I don't like syrupy strawberries, so I just used plain sliced fresh strawberries instead. Also, I served this with whipped cream (obviously, without the syrup it would have been too dry otherwise!). The biscuit part was very good though. I didn't bother with the cream/sugar on top of the biscuits, but I'm sure it would have been even better with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReadMyLips26
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
Wonderful!! I did not have buttermilk on hand so I substituted. I did 3 TBS vinegar with milk added to equal 1 cup, let sit 10 min. and voila!, buttermilk.(I use this sub. for anytime I have no buttermilk on hand) They came out so tasty, my in-laws loved them after dinner. I did not alter the ingredients but made my own whipped cream to top with. SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReadMyLips26

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Absolutely delicious! My husband doesn't like desserts that are too sweet, so I thought this might be a good option. I made it without brushing the tops of the biscuits before baking, and it turned out great! I also only made 1/4 of the recipe, because I didn't need 12 biscuits for just the 2 of us. The texture was perfect!! The inside was soft, and the outside had a delicious crunch to it. I paired it with frozen mixed berries, because I didn't want to make a trip to town for fresh strawberries. The berries in combination with that crunch were just amazing. Ask my husand... he listended to me rave about it the entire time we were eating. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Dice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smithton, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocahontas, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Really great recipe! The ingredient substitutions I made were health conscious ones such as using evaporated cane juice instead of white sugar, organic butter, sea salt, and whole wheat pastry flour. Baking for only 13 minutes was perfect, and freezing and then grating the butter as was suggested by another reviewer worked like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eat2live

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Delicious! I modified recipe down to 4 biscuits and it was great. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Oh, my!! This turned out to be one of the best desserts I have ever made! And I bake a lot!! I read a few of the reviews, and borrowed tips from a couple of them. I didn't have unsalted butter, only stick margarine,so.....I used this with complete success and left the salt out of the recipe. Someone also suggested freezing the butter and shred it. Worked nicely, really is easier than a pastry blender. I also swapped out the buttermilk with plain yogurt and sour cream, using half of each to make the right amount. That sounds confusing, so...for example if your recipe calls for 2/3 cup of buttermilk, use 1/3 cup plain yogurt, and 1/3 cup of sour cream. I also added approx. 3 TBS whipping cream. I also didn't have the specialty sugar, so used granulated instead, brushing the biscuits with whipping cream and sprinkling the sugar. Placed dough in 1/3 cup measuring cup, to shape the biscuits. I baked these for the full 15 minutes, the biscuits were tender, slightly sweet, and perfect with the strawberries, but as an added taste treat, I halved fresh blueberries and added them to the sliced strawberries, then sugared them and added lemon juice. Heavenly!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
So delicious!! I went strawberry picking yesterday and was looking for a good shortcake recipe. My husband and I agreed that this is a keeper. Biscuit is shortbread-like, moist, and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
I've always had strawberry shortcake made with pound cake, sponge cake or angel food cake - never with this sweet biscuit/scone like "cake." In addition to the turbinado sugar I gave them a good sprinkle of cinnamon sugar. Nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States