Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Yes. The entire effort, with homemade whipped cream, took about 20 minutes, including cleanup, and made an incredible dessert. Follow the recipe verbatim. If you have a stick blender (immersion blender) you can use that to "cut" the butter into the flour mixture, which saves some time. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DannyBoy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Simple & delicious! I followed the recipe as written and loved it. I baked for the minimum 15 minutes & the shortcakes were perfect. My family loved these & no doubt they'll become a favorite dessert during strawberry season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckyduck63

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Perfect biscuit-y shortbread recipe! I'm definitely a food processor person for cutting in, but do pour it into a bowl before you add your buttermilk, as the dough ends up being very sticky. You'd leave a ton behind in the processor bowl/blade. I make 8-9 big shortbreads, and keep the baking time at 15-16 mins max (even less if you actually make 12).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Great recipe! Easy to make! Everyone thought they were delicious. Will definitely make them over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This is a very good dessert biscuit. Washing the top with heavy cream is I think better than an egg wash. Then topping with a generous dusting of turbanado made the tops beautifully brown, sweet and crispy. What else could you ask for. These went with sweetened strawberries and sweetened heavy whipping cream flavored with a little cognac. Ooo la la
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DW
Home Town: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I made these for my sister and her family. I used the food prossessor to cut the butter in. I used a little less than a teaspoon of salt. I needed more buttermilk. Our personal preference was not to put cream and sugar on the top. Everybody loved them. We made them 3 times in one week! We did do our own thing with the berries and made whip cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
This is THE BEST shortcake recipe I've ever had! I was impressed with the light, fluffy texture which is amazing because I tend to like the dense shortcakes. This simply melts in your mouth. I baked them on the rack above middle to keep the bottoms of the shortcakes from browning too much. I also liked measuring out the dough as the 1/3c seems to be a perfect portion. I ended up having to add more buttermilk, but that is probably due to climate. I also just brushed with buttermilk since I already had it out. As for the berries, I did blackberry-strawberry since these needed to be eaten soon. I also added some opened champagne to the berries and let sit overnight. It helped give more juice and and incredible flavor. THANKS for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
lovely recipe. My personal preference is cut out biscuits so I kneaded more flour into them the second time I made them and they turned out perfect. They were also great as drop biscuits, I just prefer the cut outs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pryor, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
This was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
Very good. A little salty because I used salted butter, but it was still delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buttermilk Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make strawberry shortcake with airy buttermilk biscuits.

Strawberry Shortcake

See how to make a top-rated, old-fashioned strawberry shortcake.

Red, White, and Blue Strawberry Shortcake

This patriotic cake is perfect for Fourth of July picnics and parties.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States