Buttermilk Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Great bread. We loved all the seeds! I halved the recipe and made it in my bread machine on the dough setting. When I took it out, I continued from step 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
This recipe produced a fine, moist, somewhat nutty flavored loaf. It is destined to become a favorite in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I've been looking for a simple and healthy bread recipe, and this one is perfect! I've tried other wheat bread recipes and scrapped them because they were too bland and too dry. This one was great- the loaves were heavy, but still moist. Be sure to let the loaves cool completely before you slice them, or else you'll wind up with crumbly, uneven slices. (Most folks say 20 min cooling time is enough, but I had better luck when I waited a full hour.) I'll definitely try this one again. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CandiceSteele
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Everyone loved this bread. It was great toasted with just a little butter, so warm and chewy. I didn't have any flax or poppy seeds, so I just doubled up on the sunflower and sesame seeds. I also brushed the tops with a little milk and sprinkled on some rolled oats before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
This bread is so good, and the toast is exquisite. I divided the recipe in half and made it start to finish in my bread maker. Perfect! I did, however, use a full tablespoon of yeast according to my machine's recommendations for 3 cups of flour. The 3/4 cup of water halved is approximately 6 Tbsp. I also substituted oil for the butter, and used heaping tablespoons of seeds. I made it on the whole wheat cycle, light crust. The sunflower seeds were all chopped up, which was what I wanted, but you could add these later if you wanted them whole. I will make this regularly. Thank you for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Maybe I just got lucky, but this is by far the best loaf of bread I have ever made. In fact, I'd say it was perfect. Stranger yet, even my 8 and 7 year olds (picky eaters) loved this bread! I used heaping spoonfuls of each type of seed but otherwise followed the recipe exactly, kneading in flour as needed (as much as it took to no longer be sticky). Oh you betcha I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This is a hearty, chewy bread. I really enjoyed all the seeds. I would like a little more of them. (I used half ground flax seeds, half whole). I used 3 cups whole wheat, the rest white. I also used butter instead of margarine. The seeds and buttermilk give it a flavor and texture similar to the bread we get at a good German bakery. I liked it, but didn't love it as much as another bread I've made recently, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
This. Recipe. Was. So. Good. I don't even like buttermilk! But it was very mild and the loaves came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
A great change from the everyday breads!! I didn't have buttermilk so I used the same amount of 2% milk and added 1 and 1/2 teaspoons of vinegar. Also, I didn't have bread flour so I just used all-purpose flour and it turned out awesome. Another idea is to grind up the flax seeds first as you get more nutritional value that way. You can use a blender or a coffee grinder. A keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
Excellent bread recipe. I used all purpose flour and added about 1/4 c chopped walnuts. Mixed it all in my Kitchen Aide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States