Buttermilk Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
This recipe produced a fine, moist, somewhat nutty flavored loaf. It is destined to become a favorite in this household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2002
I've been looking for different bread recipes, and this one turned out "perfect"! I loved it very much. I did omit the poppy seeds & the sesame seeds. Just added a little more of flax & sunflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2002
I've been looking for a simple and healthy bread recipe, and this one is perfect! I've tried other wheat bread recipes and scrapped them because they were too bland and too dry. This one was great- the loaves were heavy, but still moist. Be sure to let the loaves cool completely before you slice them, or else you'll wind up with crumbly, uneven slices. (Most folks say 20 min cooling time is enough, but I had better luck when I waited a full hour.) I'll definitely try this one again. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Excellent yeast bread with great favor. I expect that it will make wonderful toast with butter. Note that I substituted skim milk & vineger (sour milk) since I didn't have buttermilk and didn't use any poppy seeds the first time around. Also, used sunflower nuts instead of seeds. I will definitely make this again, probably adding a larger quantity of nuts and seeds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2003
This bread is fantastic. I've made it three times in the past month, a little different each time, and my favorite result was achieved without sunflower seeds and with 50% more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
An excellent bread that also makes very good toast. But why ruin a good healthy bread with margarine? I use better butter (1 lb butter blended with 1 1/4 cups cold pressed canola oil). The mixture must be refigerated but it is always spreadable. Better butter has the taste of butter but a much lower cholesterol figure and the added benefit of the monounsaturated oil. Ever wonder how margarines that claim to have no trans-fatty acids are made into a solid? Yuck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Excellent recipe!!! Not too overpowering, but definately different and unique. The 2nd time i 2xed the flax and sunflower seeds...VERY filling:) This is a great way to get kids to eat something healthy, but not too "weird."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
This bread is so good, and the toast is exquisite. I divided the recipe in half and made it start to finish in my bread maker. Perfect! I did, however, use a full tablespoon of yeast according to my machine's recommendations for 3 cups of flour. The 3/4 cup of water halved is approximately 6 Tbsp. I also substituted oil for the butter, and used heaping tablespoons of seeds. I made it on the whole wheat cycle, light crust. The sunflower seeds were all chopped up, which was what I wanted, but you could add these later if you wanted them whole. I will make this regularly. Thank you for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
My family loved this bread! I mill my own wheat so I used 6 c. of milled hard white and substituted olive oil for the margarine. Kneaded in machine for 5 minutes and then baked in oven. Also only used flax seed (4 T.) since my daughter doesn't like seed in her bread---I've learned she doesn't detect the flax seed :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
This recipe was Wonderful. I only used sunflower seeds (about 8 TBS) cause that was all I had. And I used 1 percent milk and vinegar (for the buttermilk) as I always do since I always have those two items on hand. I took one loaf out of the oven and put it right into the frezer so it could cool and we could have it for dinner. My husband and two year old also loved it. I will definately make it again, next time will use the diffrent seeds. Thanks so mcuh for this GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States