Buttermilk Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
A great change from the everyday breads!! I didn't have buttermilk so I used the same amount of 2% milk and added 1 and 1/2 teaspoons of vinegar. Also, I didn't have bread flour so I just used all-purpose flour and it turned out awesome. Another idea is to grind up the flax seeds first as you get more nutritional value that way. You can use a blender or a coffee grinder. A keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2005
These loaves come out looking beautiful, a nice golden color, also very easy to make, if you like a 'soft and chewy' texture try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
Maybe I just got lucky, but this is by far the best loaf of bread I have ever made. In fact, I'd say it was perfect. Stranger yet, even my 8 and 7 year olds (picky eaters) loved this bread! I used heaping spoonfuls of each type of seed but otherwise followed the recipe exactly, kneading in flour as needed (as much as it took to no longer be sticky). Oh you betcha I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOIREBRI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Springs, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This bread didnt last even a day between my boyfriend and me!! We didnt have vinegar or buttermilk and added pumpkin seeds as well. Super!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2004
We LOVE this recipe! I add more wheat flour and use only 1 cup of bread flour. To compensate, I add wheat gluten. I also add more seeds. I can't keep this bread in the house because everyone enjoys it so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2003
This bread rises nicely and has a hint of sweetness. I used 4 Ts of poppyseeds and 2 Ts of sesame seeds. The loaves look very pretty as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2003
This recipe was Wonderful. I only used sunflower seeds (about 8 TBS) cause that was all I had. And I used 1 percent milk and vinegar (for the buttermilk) as I always do since I always have those two items on hand. I took one loaf out of the oven and put it right into the frezer so it could cool and we could have it for dinner. My husband and two year old also loved it. I will definately make it again, next time will use the diffrent seeds. Thanks so mcuh for this GREAT recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
My family loved this bread! I mill my own wheat so I used 6 c. of milled hard white and substituted olive oil for the margarine. Kneaded in machine for 5 minutes and then baked in oven. Also only used flax seed (4 T.) since my daughter doesn't like seed in her bread---I've learned she doesn't detect the flax seed :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2003
This bread is so good, and the toast is exquisite. I divided the recipe in half and made it start to finish in my bread maker. Perfect! I did, however, use a full tablespoon of yeast according to my machine's recommendations for 3 cups of flour. The 3/4 cup of water halved is approximately 6 Tbsp. I also substituted oil for the butter, and used heaping tablespoons of seeds. I made it on the whole wheat cycle, light crust. The sunflower seeds were all chopped up, which was what I wanted, but you could add these later if you wanted them whole. I will make this regularly. Thank you for submitting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2003
Excellent recipe!!! Not too overpowering, but definately different and unique. The 2nd time i 2xed the flax and sunflower seeds...VERY filling:) This is a great way to get kids to eat something healthy, but not too "weird."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RANCHGIRL_59714

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Belgrade, Montana, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States