Buttermilk Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I'm reluctant to admit how much of this bread I can eat. It's scrumptious. I make half the recipe in my breadmaker, remove after it's risen, and shape into loaves or rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Two loaves. Three I-guess-I-could-eat-but-I'm-not-that-hungry family members. GONE IN 30 MINUTES. Delicious, nutritious, and utterly irresistable. I used ground flax seeds because they were all I had, and as preciously mentioned they're better for you. Thank you so much for sharing! This recipe will be used time and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This was pretty good, very flavorful with the buttermilk (I used sour milk) and seeds. I used ground flax seeds for 1 of the 2 T's, for nutritional value, and also added 1 T of quinoa. This did not rise very well for me and was a bit heavier than I prefer, but good. Served with a light turkey soup. I also topped with and egg wash and rolled oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Excellent bread! The loaves turned out just beautiful. I chose not to use flax seeds, but added more of all the other seeds. Brushed the top with milk, more seeds and a couple pats of butter. Browned beautifully. So good right out of the oven. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CandiceSteele
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Everyone loved this bread. It was great toasted with just a little butter, so warm and chewy. I didn't have any flax or poppy seeds, so I just doubled up on the sunflower and sesame seeds. I also brushed the tops with a little milk and sprinkled on some rolled oats before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Great bread. We loved all the seeds! I halved the recipe and made it in my bread machine on the dough setting. When I took it out, I continued from step 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This is a hearty, chewy bread. I really enjoyed all the seeds. I would like a little more of them. (I used half ground flax seeds, half whole). I used 3 cups whole wheat, the rest white. I also used butter instead of margarine. The seeds and buttermilk give it a flavor and texture similar to the bread we get at a good German bakery. I liked it, but didn't love it as much as another bread I've made recently, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2005
This. Recipe. Was. So. Good. I don't even like buttermilk! But it was very mild and the loaves came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2005
Excellent bread recipe. I used all purpose flour and added about 1/4 c chopped walnuts. Mixed it all in my Kitchen Aide.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
A great change from the everyday breads!! I didn't have buttermilk so I used the same amount of 2% milk and added 1 and 1/2 teaspoons of vinegar. Also, I didn't have bread flour so I just used all-purpose flour and it turned out awesome. Another idea is to grind up the flax seeds first as you get more nutritional value that way. You can use a blender or a coffee grinder. A keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LDSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 45) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

How to Make Poppy Seed Rolls

Learn how to make impressive, homemade poppy seed dinner rolls from scratch.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States