Buttermilk Seed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I ended up making two batches of this bread. The first batch I used fennel seed instead of flax seed. It turned out pretty good but it had a very strong fennel seed taste. It went well with the kelbalsa and cabbage reicpe that I made. The correct recipe turned out great. Makes delicous toast and great sandwiches. I have been paying a lot of money for a loaf of multigrain bread. From now one I will be making my own. Thanks for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2006
Delicious! Made it in my Kitchen Aide and turned out beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I tried this bread twice, and even though its taste was pretty good, it did not rise enough to suit my taste. I also think the recipe calls for too much bread flour, except if you use 1 of them for kneading. Sorry, I won't give it another shot...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I'm reluctant to admit how much of this bread I can eat. It's scrumptious. I make half the recipe in my breadmaker, remove after it's risen, and shape into loaves or rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2006
Two loaves. Three I-guess-I-could-eat-but-I'm-not-that-hungry family members. GONE IN 30 MINUTES. Delicious, nutritious, and utterly irresistable. I used ground flax seeds because they were all I had, and as preciously mentioned they're better for you. Thank you so much for sharing! This recipe will be used time and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
This was pretty good, very flavorful with the buttermilk (I used sour milk) and seeds. I used ground flax seeds for 1 of the 2 T's, for nutritional value, and also added 1 T of quinoa. This did not rise very well for me and was a bit heavier than I prefer, but good. Served with a light turkey soup. I also topped with and egg wash and rolled oats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2005
Excellent bread! The loaves turned out just beautiful. I chose not to use flax seeds, but added more of all the other seeds. Brushed the top with milk, more seeds and a couple pats of butter. Browned beautifully. So good right out of the oven. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CandiceSteele
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2005
Everyone loved this bread. It was great toasted with just a little butter, so warm and chewy. I didn't have any flax or poppy seeds, so I just doubled up on the sunflower and sesame seeds. I also brushed the tops with a little milk and sprinkled on some rolled oats before baking. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CandiceSteele

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Higashi-Omi, Shiga, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
Great bread. We loved all the seeds! I halved the recipe and made it in my bread machine on the dough setting. When I took it out, I continued from step 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2005
This is a hearty, chewy bread. I really enjoyed all the seeds. I would like a little more of them. (I used half ground flax seeds, half whole). I used 3 cups whole wheat, the rest white. I also used butter instead of margarine. The seeds and buttermilk give it a flavor and texture similar to the bread we get at a good German bakery. I liked it, but didn't love it as much as another bread I've made recently, also from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Braided Easter Egg Bread

Round, braided Easter bread decorated with natural or dyed eggs.

Pumpkin Seed Flatbread with Sweet Onions & Feta

Crisp, delicious flatbread is topped with feta, onions, & healthy pumpkin seeds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States