Buttermilk Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
It seems there might be too much flour in these scones because they became really pastey in my mouth. My fiance loved them though. I didn't roll out the dough, but instead used my hands to roll a fistfull of dough into balls. So maybe they were too thick. I might try to add other flavours to these scones next time and maybe reduce the flour and add a bit of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mirlicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shirley
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
i'm a newbie when it comes to cooking or baking ... or anything to do with the kitchen at all. :p but this recipe is pretty easy. i didn't have buttermilk, so i added about a tablespoon of apple cider vinegar to whole milk as a substitute. i also added about a cup of raisins. i think it turned out pretty ok. it tastes a whole lot better if you eat it with strawberry jam. :) oh, i think you have to let it sit for a while before baking the scones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
Not dry or flaky at all, unlike other scones I have made. They are tasty and super easy to make. I used the cut method, but made 20 smaller scones in one batch. Great with butter and some jam. Even my 2 year old loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I just wanted to use up my extra buttermilk and I'm so glad I chose this recipe. Anyone who says these are bland: it says in the description this is a basic recipe-I took this to mean I get to choose my own flavour. I added mozza, oregano, and a touch of basil. I decreased the temp and increased the cooking time because my first batch was raw inside, but otherwise these were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
Wow! This was the first time that I'd ever made scones, and these turned out great! I added about a quarter cup of maple syrup to sweeten them and add maple flavor, and I addded raisins and chopped walnuts. I also used a little less flour and added in some dry oatmeal. They turned out delicious! Everyone in my family loved them. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pleasanton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I did not rate this recipe as highly because it was not even slightly sweet as a scone should be. Try adding some Splenda to make it more appealing. Also, the texture was a bit dry. Maybe a little applesauce wouldn't be amiss?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Shaw Weeks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
I made several batches of these for my hubbies breakfast meeting. I filled them with different types of jam, then baked them. They were sort of hand rolled, not really "dropped", as I had to close all the seams, so most of the jam would stay inside while baking. They were so good, it was difficult allowing enough to leave with him to work. My teenager, has requested we make these again, and again, and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Orangevale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathleen
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2007
These were my first attempt at scones. I pressed the dough out on a sheet of baking paper and cut scones into pieces, then transferred the cut scones on the paper directly to the baking sheet. No flour mess that way. I, like some other reviewers, only used 2 tsp of baking powder instead of 2 Tbs. They turned out wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
I found this to be a healthy snack alternative. I added dried blueberries and they tasted great on its own and even better with some jam and cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by phuong

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
I think there must be a misprint in this recipe 2 TABLESPOONS baking powder is way too much. I used 2 teaspoons and was very pleased. Scones are supposed to be bland but if you like a sweeter one add some sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States