Buttermilk Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
I am used to very plain scones so found this simple, easy to prepare recipe very satisfactory; and when served with the usual slather of lemon curd and clotted cream on top, well they were heavenly. A light and tender scone that is still sturdy enough to hold whatever you want to put onto them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
These scones were very dry. If i had not put a few crasin in them they would have had no taste at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2010
I tried this recipe, added some fruits but i'm afraid to say that the consistency was awful i even added more flour which did not make a difference. Afraid i won't be using this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2010
The baking powder called for is far too much for a mere 3 cups flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
Aren't they suppsed to be sweet, like the ones at starbucks? I still love them, thus 5 stars.. Hopefully my 2 year old will approve :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Nice scone. Very traditional. Think I'll add some sugar next time for a little sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
These scones are delicious - light and airy, buttery goodness! I do add a couple of handfuls of raisins in the mix before baking. This is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
This is a fantastic recipe! I made these in the kitchen at the institution where I work and they were all the rave. I received nothing but compliments and requests for the recipe. And, I am the chief scientist not a chef, so anyone can make these special. I added various cheeses to some with italian herbs, cheeses with Montreal steak spice with others, some were plain moist and tender, some made with sugar, raw brown sugar, Splenda (for the diabetics), fresh fruit, etc. I incorporated sugar into the flour mixture and(saskatoon berry) jam into the melted butter and buttermilk mixture in one batch. This changed the consistency of the dough somewhat, but they were still delicious. This recipe also freezes and reheats well. P.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penelope Rowley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I made the recipe as directed, adding lemon zest and poppy seeds. These are more like American bicuits than scones. Plain scones are generally bland, so that was to be expected, but the density and texture was not right. I don't think I'll be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpottedSparrow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Aachen, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I questioned 2 tablespons of baking powder. It turned out well. I added nuts and chopped apricots. It was a sticky dough so I used drop method and patted dollops down on baking sheets. I will bake this again because it is simple to prepare and is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States