Buttermilk Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I wanted something sweet so I added 1/2 cup sugar and toffee pieces that I found next to the chocolate chips and knew they needed to be baked into something English. I love making biscuits with the melted butter stirred into the cold buttermilk trick and so was happy to find a similar scone recipe. I look forward to making these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2011
I loves the scones. Next time I will add some fruit or nuts be they are perfect plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MyBreak2Day

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I made them with whole wheat flour so they were heavier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
excellent basic recipe. I jazzed it up with cloves and cardamom, dried cherries (soak first), chocolate chunks and 2 tbl white sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
So easy!!! I love this recipe!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Super easy to make. I added chili powder, garlic powder, a little cumin and some diced green chiles from a can. Very tasty. I might add a little cayenne, too, next time, just to make them a tad spicier...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yardley, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
This was absolutely so easy, and pretty good. I put raisins in mine. I made as is, making 8 scones, they were pretty good sized. Next time I think I will try to make 12 out of this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
I am a scone lover and I am not sure how this recipe got 4 stars. As the recipe is, this turns out extremely bland. I added 1/3 cup sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 cup of blueberries, and a 1/4 cup of pecans. I also brushed with buttermilk and sprinkled with sugar. The scones were STILL bland!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
The scones came out of the oven "just right" for my tastes; if you like a firmer scone, decrease the buttermilk to 1 cup. I baked mine on a pizza stone (no parchment paper or greasing needed!). I followed others' recommendations and did the following: added 1 tsp white sugar and changed the baking powder to 2 tsp. I also added 1/3 c dried cranberries and about 1/2 c white chocolate chips. The scones baked up so large that I'd recommend making the scones half the size (so, make at least 16 scones from this recipe).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Super easy and super yummy! Versatile and simple is my kind of recipe. THIS IS IT! I look like an expert baker when I pull these out of the oven. It takes less than 40 minutes to put these scones together and such a great base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Living In: Monroe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States