Buttermilk Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I added a little sugar and blueberries. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Added 1/4 cup sugar and 1 cup blueberries to dough. Drizzled with glaze after cooled. Got recipe from other site: Vanilla Glaze 2/3 cup powdered sugar 1 Tablespoon warm water 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Loved this recipe! It's a recipe you can do a lot with from plain to fancy! I will use this recipe in place of my regular biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULDI

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Summit Point, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is a great starter recipe. I used it as a base and split the dough in half adding currants to one half and lemon rind, a bit of lemon juice and ginger to the other. I also dropped tablespoon sized balls of dough onto a parchment covered cookie sheet which is much easier than shaping the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
added much more cheese and a lot of herbs. Turned out denser than I wanted and was a bit bland so probably could have used more salt. Definitely more of a biscuit then scone but was pretty good toasted with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
WOW I just tried these using gluten-free flours and they are AWESOME!!! (sifted 2 c sorghum flour, 1/2 c tapioca starch, 1/2 c potato starch, flat 1/2 tsp xanthan gum) I also added 2 TBSP powdered buttermilk to the flours + 2 TBSP white sugar. I also mixed in 2 TBSP lite agave nectar to the buttermilk. I was really careful to just mix the wet with the dry until moistened before I turned it out onto a floured surface, pressed into a rectangle, then cut into triangles. So flavorful! I'm sure it would be just as yummy with regular flour too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Good basic recipe for scones, I keep adding different things to it for some good combos ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Yummy and really easy basic scone recipe! Although I had to add extra buttermilk because the dough was a little too dry. They came out perfect! Added chocolate chips for sweetness but you could probably add just about anything to them for any kind of craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
An easy and delicious recipe. While I followed the recipe exactly, I may vary it in the future with grated cheese and/or herbs and/or bacon bits. I paired these scones with the lamb stew (also n Allrecipes) and we had a wonderful dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
Incredibly moist - almost cake like when baked in a scone pan. I used 2 tablespoons of baking powder and topped with cinnamon sugar. Warm with tea- delicious! Much easier than other scone recipes I've seen and the best rave reviews (and I've made a lot of scones). Think of these as cake-like biscuits that can easily go sweet or savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 92) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States