Buttermilk Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This was ok but I am still searching for the perfect scones. They were really moist but dense. These are more like biscuits. I added 2 shredded apples, a few dashes of nutmeg, and 1 tsp cinnamon. They wouldn't brown on the tops so I put them on broil for the last few minutes. And I also added more sugar. The taste was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
2 TEASPOONS of baking powder (not TABLESPOONS)! I used 2 tsp and the scones rose nicely. You don't need all that sour taste. Other than that, a perfect base recipe that you can make sweet or savory. Will use many times again. My toddler loves these scones with some sugar, cranberries and 1 cup whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
I added a little sugar and blueberries. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Added 1/4 cup sugar and 1 cup blueberries to dough. Drizzled with glaze after cooled. Got recipe from other site: Vanilla Glaze 2/3 cup powdered sugar 1 Tablespoon warm water 1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Loved this recipe! It's a recipe you can do a lot with from plain to fancy! I will use this recipe in place of my regular biscuit recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAULDI

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Summit Point, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This is a great starter recipe. I used it as a base and split the dough in half adding currants to one half and lemon rind, a bit of lemon juice and ginger to the other. I also dropped tablespoon sized balls of dough onto a parchment covered cookie sheet which is much easier than shaping the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
added much more cheese and a lot of herbs. Turned out denser than I wanted and was a bit bland so probably could have used more salt. Definitely more of a biscuit then scone but was pretty good toasted with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
WOW I just tried these using gluten-free flours and they are AWESOME!!! (sifted 2 c sorghum flour, 1/2 c tapioca starch, 1/2 c potato starch, flat 1/2 tsp xanthan gum) I also added 2 TBSP powdered buttermilk to the flours + 2 TBSP white sugar. I also mixed in 2 TBSP lite agave nectar to the buttermilk. I was really careful to just mix the wet with the dry until moistened before I turned it out onto a floured surface, pressed into a rectangle, then cut into triangles. So flavorful! I'm sure it would be just as yummy with regular flour too :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Good basic recipe for scones, I keep adding different things to it for some good combos ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emmers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
Yummy and really easy basic scone recipe! Although I had to add extra buttermilk because the dough was a little too dry. They came out perfect! Added chocolate chips for sweetness but you could probably add just about anything to them for any kind of craving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake Forest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States