Buttermilk Scones Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2015
This is a awful, bland and dry recipe I have ever tasted. I had to throw it away it was so bad. I love buttermilk and thought this would be really good. I wasted my time and energy baking this. The only good that came out of it was the kitchen was a little warmer! Don't even try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I liked this recipe as a basic scone. I added chocolate chips and topped the scones with a brown butter glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
Let me preface this with the fact that I have always considered scones just the delivery vehicle for butter and jam. I read all the bad reviews first and then I read the better reviews. Taking into consideration what just about everyone who hated the recipe said about the baking powder, I made a batch with 1 T (half what it recommended) and since I didn't have buttermilk in the house I used the combination of milk and plain yogurt. I didn't add ANY other flavorings other than a bit of sugar on top when they were cooking. This batch came out really pretty dense and even though I cooked it for the full 15 minutes, it was a little doughy. But it had possibilities. For the second batch I used the full 2T. of baking powder and actual buttermilk, threw in a handful of shredded cheese and away we went. The second cheesy batch turned out a LOT fluffier, and even after a couple of days with 30 seconds in the microwave it was pretty darn tasty. I think that the basic recipe has huge potential for the adding of different flavors, fruits, nuts and other add-ins. I think the 2T of baking powder is basically correct. I'm also going to mention that humidity might play a factor. Right now we're in the middle of a long week of rainstorms after a really dry couple of years. I don't know if humidity might have made that first batch a little damp. I know it made a huge difference in the Alton Brown Angel Food Cake I once attempted. Just sayin'. I think this is a very good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
I found this wonderful recipe while using the 'search" function to find buttermilk recipes. I needed to use up what remained from making Chef John's Creme Fraiche. We loved this recipe adding 1/2 cup sugar, lemon zest and 1 cup dried cranberries. When they were out of the oven, I brushed the tops with melted butter and sprinkled with sugar. I used my large cookie scoop to drop them on stoneware, which yielded 25 biscuit-size. I want to try the savory route with blue cheese and rosemary. Thank you BevChris for this easy basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kleescraga

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Spring Branch, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Just tried this recipe and with added sugar and dried cranberries the scones turned out great, very light and you could taste the buttermilk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katra O'Dell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Good basic recipe. Allows you to be creative with flavors. I tried making it with raisanettes in the center. I also tried blueberries. But I really liked the raisanettes one. Nothing like warm scones with melty gooey chocolate raisans in each bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dance Kitty Cat
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I added 2 handfuls of shredded Mexican cheese. But.. You can't taste it.. So I melted some butter, painted it on top on of the scones. Then I sprinkled white sugar on top. Keeps them from tasting so dry :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dance Kitty Cat
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I made them with cheese and italian herbs and they looked beautiful and tasted terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kara Creswell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
After being subjected to multiple, far too sweet scones (curse you Starbucks), I was pleased to find a recipe that allowed me to choose between sweet and savory scones. Overall, it was good, but a few problems: 1. This is not really the right texture for a scone. It's more like a southern biscuit without the buttery-ness. 2. WAY too much baking powder. It ended up giving my biscuit-scone a bitter aftertaste. I was able to ameliorate the issue by eating it with some jam, but was unable to enjoy it by itself. This is tragic as these things are my grab-n-go breakfast. 3. Thank goodness I followed my instincts and used a 2" diameter cookie cutter to make mini-scones. These guys fluffed up so much that they would have been behemoths if I had gone with the suggested size. I'm willing to give this recipe another go! I just think I'll reduce the amount of baking powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Good recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Scones

These easy scones make breakfast or afternoon teas something special.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Grandma Johnson’s Scones

See how to make top-rated and time-tested scones.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States